Skip to product information
1 of 1


Novus Quartet - Shostakovich: String Quartets No. 3 & 8

Novus Quartet - Shostakovich: String Quartets No. 3 & 8

Regular price $24.99
Regular price Sale price $24.99
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Usually ships within 1 to 2 weeks.


Shostakovich was in his early thirties when he first turned to the string quartet. He planned to produce a full cycle of 24; he completed 15. These works embody his resistance to a crushing Soviet power that held the belief that all art should be political. At the same time, he used them as a means of personal, autobiographical expression, aimed at presenting a true depiction of himself as a man and an artist. Bringing together Nos. 3 and 8, the Novus Quartet make Shostakovich's revolt tangible, while faithfully representing the magnificent, heartrending world of this great composer.

View full details