Skip to product information
1 of 1

Ambronay Editions

La Palatine - Il n y a pas d amour heureux

La Palatine - Il n y a pas d amour heureux

Regular price $23.99
Regular price Sale price $23.99
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Usually ships within 1 to 2 weeks.


A sensitive and delicate quartet, La Palatine (soprano, viola da gamba, theorbo and harpsichord) invites us on a chiaroscuro journey through the heart of 17th-century Italian music. Lamenti, famous arias and cantatas (Rossi, Merula, Monteverdi...) or world premiere recordings (Savioni) passionately depict the torments of disenchanted love. The mission of the baroque ensemble La Palatine is to cultivate curiosity, poetry, audacity and sharing. This "instrumental and vocal string quartet" brings together four young musicians under the sparkling figure of Princess Palatine, Louis XIV's truculent sister-in-law. Specializing in the French and Italian repertoires of the 17th century, they are committed to move the audience through colorful and expressive performances. For the ensemble, mixing art forms is paramount. Therefore La Palatine creates concerts that are pure shows, full of life and fantasy. Founded in 2019, La Palatine has performed in many festivals, such as the Festival d'Ambronay, Embaroquement Immédiat, the York Early Music Festival and Mars en Baroque. At the International H.I.F. Biber Competition (Austria), the ensemble won the F.J Aumann Prize, given for new discoveries in baroque music. It is part of the European EEEMERGING+ program, through which it was revealed at the 2021 Festival d'Ambronay.

View full details