Skip to product information
1 of 1


Gregori/ Capriccio Barockorchester/ Kiefer - 10 Concerti Grossi 2

Gregori/ Capriccio Barockorchester/ Kiefer - 10 Concerti Grossi 2

Regular price $24.99
Regular price Sale price $24.99
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Usually ships within 1 to 2 weeks.


Giovanni Lorenzo Gregori (1663 - 1745), "Maestro di capella amenissimo, bravo sonatore di violino", worked predominantly in his hometown of Lucca. His main work, 10 Concerti Opus 2, is an almost visionary achievement, in particular because he expressly called for a powerful orchestral sonority. Each Concerto has it's own varied and multifaceted character. The solo passages of both violins are but short interludes. The accent is on the lively orchestral idiom and it's many surprises; previously unheard of combinations of string instruments are as thrilling as the transparent and lively dialogues within the orchestra. Alessandro Stradella (1644-1682) was constantly involved in love affairs and other incidents: the last ended in his murder on the Piazza Bianchi in Genoa. This did not deter from the quality of his compositions. In many ways his works still appear modern, thanks to his gift for combining different orchestral timbres and volumes, and involving the players in inspiring exchanges and mutual imitations.
View full details