Learned My Lesson


aec.dlm748.2 5/8/01 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.dlm748.2


    Learned My Lesson Delmark

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text All the songs played in Chicago blues clubs don't necessarily have 12 bars. Many of Chicago's blues singers are also R&B and/or rock singers, and Zora Young is a prime example. Based in Chi-Town but originally from Mississippi, the expressive singer provides an enjoyable, if derivative, blues/soul/rock mix on her 2000 date Learned My Lesson. Young is far from a blues purist -- while "My Man's an Undertaker" and Young originals like the humorous "Pity Party" are straight-up urban blues, she confidently detours into soul and rock territory on "Girl Friend" (another Young original) and sweaty performances of Ike & Tina Turner's "Nutbush City Limits" and Chuck Berry's "Living in the U.S.A." Meanwhile, Young draws heavily on her gospel background on a passionate version of Percy Mayfield's "Please Send Me Someone to Love." No one will accuse Young of being an innovator; drawing on such influences as Koko Taylor and Etta James, she is quite derivative. But a CD doesn't have to be groundbreaking to be likable, and Learned My Lesson is a CD that's easy to like. ~ Alex Henderson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Pity Party - 5:54
  2. 2. Lord Helps Those Who Help Themselves - 6:02
  3. 3. Nutbush City Limits - 4:54
  4. 4. Better off With the Blues - 6:18
  5. 5. Girl Friend - 3:12
  6. 6. Blues Fallin' Down Like Rain - 5:07
  7. 7. My Man's an Undertaker - 4:10
  8. 8. Damn Your Eyes - 5:36
  9. 9. Learned My Lesson - 5:21
  10. 10. Brain Damage - 5:22
  11. 11. Living in the U.S.A. - 4:41
  12. 12. Please Send Me Someone to Love - 6:41
  13. 13. Feel Like Stroking - 5:03
  14. 14. Johnny B. - 5:03

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews