What A Night A Christmas Album (Snys)



Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.sny737020.2


    What A Night A Christmas Album (Snys) Columbia
    1. What A Night A Christmas Album BMG / BMG / Sony Music
    2. What A Night A Christmas Album (Snys) Columbia

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text His third holiday-themed album, 2008's What a Night! A Christmas Album continues vocalist/pianist Harry Connick, Jr.'s tradition of delivering swinging jazz and pop versions of various tinsel tunes new and old. Recorded with a big band and orchestra, this is a terrific collection of songs making the most of Connick's knack for modern-day crooning and rambunctious small-group jazz. There is warmth, sophistication, and urbane romanticism to Connick's work here that should draw well-earned comparisons to similar classic albums by the likes of Tony Bennett, Mel Tormé, Nat King Cole, and others. However, rather than sounding like a retro affair, What a Night! delivers on Connick's promise of updating the traditional pop sound of his idols for a contemporary audience. It doesn't hurt, either, that Connick is joined here by a bevy of first-rate musicians, including vocalist Kim Burrell and trombonist/vocalist Lucien Barbarin on two duets, not to mention the stellar backing musicians. Even Kate Connick, Harry's daughter, makes an appearance for a charming duet with her dad on "Winter Wonderland." It's also refreshing to hear a few rambling small-group jazz numbers like "Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairies," which help remind listeners how nimble and inventive a jazz pianist Connick truly is. More than just a great Christmas album, What a Night! is the type of record you just might find yourself turning to well into the new year. ~ Matt Collar

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. It's the Most Wonderful Time of the Year - 3:28
  2. 2. What a Night! - 3:24
  3. 3. Christmas Day - 3:24
  4. 4. Have a Holly Jolly Christmas - 4:05
  5. 5. Please Come Home for Christmas - 4:26
  6. 6. O Come All Ye Faithful - 4:15
  7. 7. Dance of the Sugarplum Fairies - 3:46
  8. 8. Let There Be Peace on Earth - 4:30
  9. 9. Winter Wonderland - 4:50
  10. 10. It's Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas - 4:30
  11. 11. Santarrific - 4:58
  12. 12. Jingle Bells - 5:28
  13. 13. Zat You Santa Claus - 4:40
  14. 14. We Three Kings - 5:45
  15. 15. Song for the Hopeful - 5:35

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products