Weight & Glory



Product Promotions

20% off any 1 item

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.rchr8232.2


    Weight & Glory Reach Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text With a base style that's similar, it's no surprise that Christian rapper Kevin Burgess graduated from the indie circuit to the majors thanks to rapper Lecrae, especially since they sounded simpatico on Lecrae's release Rehab. Thing is, KB threatens to eclipse his mentor on the all-the-way live Weight & Glory, punching and preaching in that street church style of Lecrae's while adding his own charismatic spin, dropping clever little bits and jokes in a Drake fashion, just without the sin and swear words. On the key track "Open Letter (Battlefield)," he simply reads fan letters that ask for advice, which he doles out in rhythmic rhymes that are dotted with hip slang and Bible verses. "Church Clap" is something different entirely, grinding like a swampy David Banner cut during its verses, and erupting into a joyous, hooky chorus that suggests the Black Eyed Peas have joined some Deep South congregation. There's no filler, a wealth of hip-hop styles are covered with true spirit, and guests like Tedashii, Trip Lee, and Suzy Rock sound inspired in these surroundings. That goes double for Lecrae, who gives his best on his guest shot, proving he's taken every Bible verse about selfless service to heart and applied them to the hip-hop game while giving his biggest competition center stage. ~ David Jeffries

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Weight Music - 3:46
  2. 2. Zone Out - 3:13
  3. 3. Anomaly - 3:27
  4. 4. Don't Mean Much - 4:37
  5. 5. Go Off - 4:28
  6. 6. Mr. Pretender - 4:50
  7. 7. Open Letter (Battlefield) - 5:29
  8. 8. Heart Song - 5:37
  9. 9. Angels - 3:28
  10. 10. Tear It Down - 4:45
  11. 11. Church Clap - 3:17
  12. 12. Hello - 3:06
  13. 13. Here We Go - 5:34
  14. 14. Zone Out [Amped Remix] - 4:07

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products