Go Now And Live (Deluxe E


rovi.MR0003560041 4/25/11 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0003560041


    Go Now And Live (Deluxe E SideOneDummy

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text About as far removed from their hometown's other recent cultural export, Jersey Shore rip-off The Only Way Is Essex, as is possible, post-hardcore quintet We Are the Ocean have slowly gained a loyal following ever since they received a Kerrang! award nomination before they had even signed their first record deal. Following their 2008 self-titled EP, and their 2010 full length-debut, Cutting Our Teeth, their Pete Mills-produced sophomore, Go Now and Live, shows the band are fully intent on building on that fan base with 11 mainstream-embracing, streamlined rock tracks which could fit comfortably alongside Fightstar, You Me at Six, and Funeral for a Friend on daytime radio playlists. The dual vocals of Liam Cromby and Dan Brown are still a quintessential feature of their Alexisonfire-inspired sound, but while the former's softer, lilting tones remain intact, the latter's screaming macho roars have largely been abandoned in favor of an equally gruff but more melodic approach, a change in style which works wonders on the shredding guitar-driven lead single "The Waiting Room," the punchy "Trials and Tribulations," and the Kings of Leon-esque "Now and Then." There are still a few concessions to their previous emocore sound, such as the adrenaline-fueled opener "Trouble Is Temporary, Time Is Tonic," and the raucous grunge of "Overtime Is a Crime," but their stodgy riffs and repetitive choruses feel like a step backwards when compared to the likes of "Runaway," a melancholic tale of parental divorce which showcases a previously hidden tender side, and the driving anthemic singalong of "Follow What You Need." But overall, Go Now and Live is both an emphatic statement of intent, and a huge improvement on their underwhelming debut, which might just put Essex on the map for its music rather than its trashy reality shows. ~ Jon O'Brien

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Trouble Is Temporary, Time Is Tonic - 3:44
  2. 2. What It Feels Like - 3:02
  3. 3. Waiting Room - 4:34
  4. 4. Run Away - 4:45
  5. 5. Trials and Tribulations - 3:19
  6. 6. Overtime Is a Crime - 3:09
  7. 7. Godspeed - 3:53
  8. 8. Now and Then - 4:59
  9. 9. Follow What You Need - 3:15
  10. 10. Before I Die - 4:39

CD: 2

  1. 11. What It Feels Like [Acoustic]
  2. 12. These Days I Have Nothing [Acoustic]
  3. 13. Playing My Heart [Acoustic]
  4. 14. Run Away [Acoustic]
  5. 15. Trials and Tribulations [Acoustic]
  6. 16. This Is Called My Home
  7. 17. Overtime Is a Crime [Acoustic]
  8. 18. Now & Then [Acoustic]
  9. 19. Confessions [Acoustic]
  10. 20. Nothing Good Has Happened Yet [Acoustic]
  11. 21. Waiting Room [Acoustic]
  12. 22. Waiting Room [Video]
  13. 23. What It Feels Like [Video]
  14. 24. Run Away [Video]
  15. 25. Overtime Is a Crime [Video]

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews