Chitlins Parmigiana 0598


rovi.MR0000780611 Used
$3.39 $3.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000780611


    Chitlins Parmigiana 0598 Digital Music Products / Dmp

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text The title Chitlins Parmigiana is a humorous acknowledgment of the fact that the Vivino Brothers (Jimmy Vivino on guitar, piano, organ, and lead vocals; Jerry Vivino on sax) are Italian-Americans who specialize in music created by African-Americans: urban blues as well as jazz (mostly jazz-funk along with a straight-ahead tune), soul, and funk. You won't hear the Vivino Brothers playing "O Sole Mio," "Come Back to Sorrento," or any other famous Italian songs on this CD; their turf is music that has some connection to the blues. Most of the tunes were written by the Vivino Brothers themselves, including the moody blues/soul number "Soul Revival" and soul-jazz and jazz-funk instrumentals such as "Peanut Boss," "Cornell Knowledge," and "Capetown Fear." Meanwhile, "Jerry Boy Blues" is a dusky post-bop instrumental that features Ronnie Cuber on baritone sax and finds him quoting Oliver Nelson's "Stolen Moments." Chitlins Parmigiana (which employs Al Kooper on organ) isn't a five-star masterpiece, but it's an enjoyable effort that illustrates the Vivino siblings' diversity. ~ Alex Henderson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Peanut Boss - 4:36
  2. 2. Ghost Dancers - 6:18
  3. 3. Fools Gold - 6:52
  4. 4. Capetown Fear - 3:26
  5. 5. Chitlins Parmigiana - 6:52
  6. 6. Soul Revival - 7:08
  7. 7. You'll Never Walk Again - 4:44
  8. 8. Africa - 6:13
  9. 9. Miss Mona - 5:17
  10. 10. Jerry Boy Blues - 5:20
  11. 11. Life's Tough - 4:27
  12. 12. Cornell Knowledge - 6:34
  13. 13. We Got the Party - 3:57

Customer Reviews