Rock&Roll Chapter 1 498


rovi.MR0000772392 3/31/98 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000772392


    Rock&Roll Chapter 1 498 K-Tel Distribution

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text At first glance, this entry in K-Tel's Ultimate History of Rock & Roll Collection looks like a very good introduction to the early practitioners of rock & roll. The disc's lineup is an interesting mix of rock legends (Lloyd Price, Little Richard, Carl Perkins), one-hit wonders (Jim Lowe, the Diamonds), and innovators (Jack Scott, Duane Eddy), and the songs range from out-and-out classics to forgotten, yet worthy, obscurities. The main problem with the disc is that all but two of the songs, Carl Perkins' "Blue Suede Shoes" and Jerry Lee Lewis' "Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On" are re-recordings. While on the one hand it is scarily impressive that they were able to round up so many re-recordings of classic '50s songs (and that so many artists were game to do the re-recordings at some low point in their career), on the other it is hard to believe that anyone would actually want to listen to them instead of the original recordings. In fact it is hard to imagine what K-Tel was thinking when it put this series together. Did the label think it could fool enough people into thinking these were original recordings to make some money? The fine print on the back of the CD is pretty small, and you might not see it unless you were looking for it. Did they just figure people wouldn't care one way or the other about when the recordings were made, just as long as their favorite songs were there? Probably this is true in many cases, but that doesn't lend any validity to the series, because the whole project simply reeks of disregard for the music-buying public and for the music itself. Please do not even think about buying this, or any other volume of this awful series. ~ Tim Sendra

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Good Golly Miss Molly - 2:08
  2. 2. Willie and the Hand Jive - 3:41
  3. 3. Little Darlin' - 2:10
  4. 4. 16 Candles - 3:57
  5. 5. Blue Suede Shoes - 2:17
  6. 6. Green Door - 2:12
  7. 7. Personality - 2:29
  8. 8. Just Walking in the Rain - 3:50
  9. 9. Come Go with Me - 3:37
  10. 10. My True Love - 3:49
  11. 11. Rebel Rouser - 2:18
  12. 12. Singing the Blues - 2:28
  13. 13. Charlie Brown - 2:18
  14. 14. At the Hop - 3:40
  15. 15. Party Doll - 2:19
  16. 16. Great Balls of Fire - 2:50

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews