Takeover 3 Way V.2 0605


fye.000000400162416556 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400162416556


    Takeover 3 Way V.2 0605 Takeover Records
    1. Takeover 3 Way V.2 0605 Takeover Records
    2. Where We Stand 0605 Takeover Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text The second in a series of three-way compilations designed to up the profile of the record label owned by Yellowcard guitarist Ben Harper Takeover Records 3 Way, Issue #2 collects three unreleased and/or acoustic tracks by three on-the-rise outfits. Austin's Near Miss shout-happy punk rock scorches on the emotive, powerful "Number 7," while the screaming, careening punk of "At the Seam" feels more maniacal. If the emotive, purging jam dubbed "Now Rectify" affirms this foursome has staying power, the three tracks by San Diego's Reeve Oliver are less over the top but in some ways more appealing. The indie rock roar of "Summer" glistens like an anthem for the season, and if the upbeat, melodic rockers that follow sound like the Get Up Kids by-the-numbers, a Get Up Kids fan can hardly complain. California's renowned pop/punkers the Matches round out the comp with an above-average slab of the usual, while acoustic renderings of tunes from 2004's Epitaph offering E. Von Dahl Killed the Locals are proficient but somehow lack the snotty charm of their electrified versions. Just the same, this is a three-way punk fans won't mind jumping into. ~ John D. Luerssen

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Number 7 - 1:16
  2. 2. At the Seam - 2:17
  3. 3. Now Rectify - 3:27
  4. 4. Summer - 4:37
  5. 5. I Play the Sensitive Songwriter Card - 4:31
  6. 6. We're All Gonna Die - 4:40
  7. 7. Girl I Know - 3:47
  8. 8. Sick Little Suicide - 4:05
  9. 9. Shoot Me in the Smile - 4:51

Customer Reviews