Sweet Taste Of Sin / Various (Uk)


aec.bgp141.2 7/6/01 New
$11.89 $13.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.bgp141.2


    Sweet Taste Of Sin / Various (Uk) BGP (Beat Goes Public)

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text Although the packaging markets this to collectors, producers, and DJs looking for samples to plunder, to the layperson it might be better described as a compilation of obscure sweet soul from the mid-'70s to the early '80s. (Phillip Mitchell's "I'll See You in Hell First" bears a 1990 date, but sounds as if it was recorded considerably earlier.) There are a few hitmakers here, like Betty Everett, Shirley Brown, Isaac Hayes, Johnny "Guitar" Watson, the Detroit Emeralds, and Millie Jackson, but none are represented by hits, and most of the other names will challenge the memory banks even if you were avidly listening to black radio at the time. It's just average soul of the period, though, distinguished from many other compilations by its focus on a later era than most, and by an unabashed willingness to treat soul productions with sweet strings and slick arrangements as worthy of reinvestigation. Some tracks are better than others, like Coffey's "Sweet Taste of Sin," with his trademark funky guitar licks; Mitchell's "I'll See You in Hell First," which has a vibe akin to 1970s Curtis Mayfield; and Jackson's "It Hurts So Good," which plays it straighter than the risqué material for which she's known. This washes down easier than many sweet soul records if only because it's not overly familiar, but it can't be denied that it also reflects an era in which the soul genre itself became more saccharine and less interesting. ~ Richie Unterberger

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Sweet Taste of Sin - 5:27
  2. 2. I'll See You in Hell First - 3:14
  3. 3. Keep It Up - 3:27
  4. 4. Backed Up Against the Wall - 4:28
  5. 5. Don't Risk Your Happiness on Foolishness - 4:20
  6. 6. Set It Out - 5:05
  7. 7. Baby Get Down - 3:00
  8. 8. Killing Time - 4:42
  9. 9. Love Starved - 4:17
  10. 10. Sweet Music Soft Lights and You - 4:28
  11. 11. Your Love Is My Desire - 5:47
  12. 12. It Hurts So Good - 3:29
  13. 13. I'm Gonna Have to Tell Her - 4:09
  14. 14. If I Had the Power - 5:47
  15. 15. I Got Yo Have Your Love - 4:06
  16. 16. Do It to Me Now - 6:23

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews