Soneros De Siempre V2 506


rovi.MR0001879341 5/9/06 Used
$3.39 $3.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001879341


    Soneros De Siempre V2 506 Universal Music Latino

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Soneros de Siempre, Vol. 2, a follow-up to the original (first released in 1994), is a good 12-song compilation of some of the biggest names from Latin music's 1970s upsurge, which was much in part thanks to the emergence and development of the New York City-based Fania label. Of the big salsa stars from that era, perhaps only Cheo Feliciano and Bobby Cruz are not included on the record (though both were on Vol. 1), and the songs chosen are fairly representative of each artist's individual career, as well as the movement itself. Tito Puente's "Para los Rumberos" is excellent, with a heavy rhythm section that highlights the talent of the percussionist, and Rubén Blades' "Plástico" has a funky soul intro that slides nicely into straightforward salsa and Blades' smooth voice. Perhaps the only piece that doesn't fit as well with the overall feel of the album is "Pure Teatro" by Cuban singer La Lupe (who was only loosely affiliated with Fania in the first place), which uses calm brass and string fills over a gentle Latin rhythm. The song ends up sounding nice, but it's so different from anything else on the record -- closer to the Italian and Spanish music from that time period -- that the change is a little disconcerting. Besides this exception, however, there aren't many surprises on Soneros de Siempre, Vol. 2: it's just a lot of good salsa music from a lot of great players, and it's a lot of fun to listen to. ~ Marisa Brown

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Plástico - 7:40
  2. 2. Rompe Saragüey - 7:30
  3. 3. Tuyo Es Mental - 3:14
  4. 4. Muchachas - 5:54
  5. 5. Para los Rumberos - 4:02
  6. 6. Gran Varón - 7:51
  7. 7. Puro Teatro - 3:58
  8. 8. Vamonos Pa'L Monte - 7:05
  9. 9. Catalina la O - 5:14
  10. 10. Indestructible - 4:13
  11. 11. Cipriano Armenteros - 6:31
  12. 12. Dueña de Mí Inspiración - 3:23

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews