Sirens Of Swing


rovi.MR0000776784 6/8/99 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000776784


    Sirens Of Swing Intersound
    1. Sirens Of Swing Intersound
    2. Sirens Of Swing 0705 Intersound

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text With a running time only slightly over two hours, this budget-priced, four-CD box set from Canada easily could have fit onto two discs. There are no annotations beyond recording dates, and the mastering was done from records. (Presumably the copyright on these recordings has run out north of the border.) Also, the title is slightly misleading: only three of the 40 tracks date from the 1930s. That's all the bad news. The good news is that this is a thorough sampler of distaff vocals from (primarily) the '40s, including the expected -- the Andrews Sisters, Doris Day, Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holiday, Lena Horne, Peggy Lee, Dinah Shore, Jo Stafford, and Sarah Vaughan, each of whom gets two tracks -- but also 22 other performers, among them lesser-known women who acquit themselves well, and legends of stage and screen like Pearl Bailey, Janet Blair, Alice Faye, Betty Grable, Dorothy Lamour, Edith Piaf, Jane Russell, and Ethel Waters. The selections often include songs for which these singers scored the biggest hit versions, and if not, many were at least the most popular female-sung versions. And even if the singers didn't score big hits with these songs, in some cases the tunes became signature songs long associated with them. There are a few surprising match-ups of singer to song; all in all, however, these 40 selections provide a comprehensive view of the female singers of the World War II era. Just be sure the bulk of the box doesn't fool you and that you don't pay too high a price. ~ William Ruhlmann

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. I Can't Believe That You're in Love With Me - 3:31
  2. 2. Until the Real Thing Comes Along - 3:09
  3. 3. Penthouse Serenade (When We're Alone) - 3:09
  4. 4. Happiness Is a Thing Called Joe - 3:29
  5. 5. Stormy Weather - 3:56
  6. 6. Lady's in Love With You - 3:09
  7. 7. Linger in My Arms a Little Longer, Baby - 3:06
  8. 8. It's Only a Paper Moon - 3:11
  9. 9. Sunday Kind of Love - 3:25
  10. 10. Love Me or Leave Me - 3:55

CD: 2

  1. 11. Tess' Torch Song (I Had a Man) - 3:34
  2. 12. Lover Man - 3:19
  3. 13. One I Love (Belongs to Somebody Else) - 3:13
  4. 14. My Old Flame - 3:09
  5. 15. I'm Beginning to See the Light - 3:15
  6. 16. I Remember You - 3:03
  7. 17. Baby, Won't You Please Come Home - 3:30
  8. 18. Stairway to the Stars - 3:04
  9. 19. One for My Baby (And One More for the Road) - 3:23
  10. 20. My Dreams Are Getting Better All the Time - 3:16

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews