Rough Guide:Music Of Chin


rovi.MR0000839448 8/26/03 Used

Product Promotions

20% off 1 item (excludes pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000839448


    Rough Guide:Music Of Chin World Music Network

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Whatever you imagined about Chinese music, put it aside for this stunning compilation that captures China today. Yes, there's a brief (and actually very listenable) snippet of Chinese opera, but much of this is decidedly contemporary, whether it's the endearing, broken English semi-punk of Hang on the Box, or the simply otherworldly, captivating music of Urna. And to hear Tse Chun Yan on the qin, a type of zither, is to understand the possibilities of the instrument. The Chinese-German band, Wu Xing, offer plenty of space in their track, with a singing style that bridges the gap between classical and contemporary music. Following it with a classic cinema song from the pre-Communist era makes for a surreal juxtaposition, but still splendid, like walking farther and farther into an unknown but enchanting forest. While Chinese pop has often received a bad rap, the examples here show a very creative side, whether it's the atmospheric, building sound of Tats Lau, the rocker Cui Jian, or Ai Jing's classic "My 1997," which caused a controversy on its release in 1992. Put everything together here, even the intelligent new age of Kin Taii, and you have what's possibly the most persuasive -- and certainly the most accessible -- compilation of Chinese music available in the West. ~ Chris Nickson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Yi Wu Suo You (Nothing to My Name) - 6:34
  2. 2. Silaihuar - 6:02
  3. 3. Jiu Kuang (The Drinking Song) - 2:11
  4. 4. Wo Yao Hui Jia (I Want to Go Home) - 3:02
  5. 5. My 1997 - 5:13
  6. 6. Stone Forest Nocturne - 5:59
  7. 7. Hong Niang Hui Zhang Sheng - 2:58
  8. 8. Shananxi Air - 4:46
  9. 9. Yellow Banana - 2:05
  10. 10. Nocturnal Light - 5:17
  11. 11. Lan Guei Ji Ji - 3:34
  12. 12. Green Brook Running - 5:52
  13. 13. Tirik Bostan - 2:50
  14. 14. Bo - 4:58
  15. 15. Chiang Wei Cu Cu Kai - 3:09
  16. 16. Autumn Moon - 3:37
  17. 17. Night of Bonfire - 5:08

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews