Om Lounge 10


rovi.MR0000439299 2/21/06 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000439299


    Om Lounge 10 OM

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text The Om label is one of America's best sources for underground downtempo electronica and nu-jazz, and since 1998 the Om Lounge series has offered a consistently useful window into the type of quality and variety you can expect from the label's catalog. The tenth volume in the series is one of the strongest yet. On the album's opening track, Samantha James sets a high standard with her lush and gorgeous "Rise," a laid-back tune with a simple but gloriously catchy hook. Impressively, almost all of the other artists meet or come close to that level of chilled-out funky brilliance. Other highlight tracks include Jianda & Patchen's "Wish," which incorporates some subtly elegant rhythmic variations in the chorus; Joey Youngman's spare, dark, and sexy "Gotta Be Love"; and Stolen Identity's similarly slinky "Argentina." On the less compelling side are JT Donaldson, whose relaxed "New Tempo" teeters on the brink of boring, and Simeon, whose "Not Feeling This" couches seriously off-putting lyrics in romantic mood music (when you're snuggling with your honey, do you think she wants to hear someone crooning, "I'm not sure that I can give what you want me to.... I'm not feelin' this, babe"?). Even at its least impressive, though, this album offers plenty of good downtempo pleasure. Recommended. ~ Rick Anderson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Rise - 4:23
  2. 2. Broken Ambers - 4:11
  3. 3. Huff N Puff - 5:48
  4. 4. Gotta Be Love - 4:13
  5. 5. Argentina - 6:07
  6. 6. Wish - 5:16
  7. 7. Chopsticks - 5:21
  8. 8. Not Feelin This - 5:02
  9. 9. No More Sand in My Lipbalm - 5:17
  10. 10. In 2 You - 5:13
  11. 11. Anything You Say - 7:47
  12. 12. New Tempo - 6:56
  13. 13. Everything - 6:23
  14. 14. Almost There - 7:36

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews