A Night In Brazil 0908


rovi.MR0001134400 9/2/08 Used
$0.84 $0.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001134400


    A Night In Brazil 0908 Norte / RED Distribution / Discos 605

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Brazil is so disproportionately blessed with great musicians, and has had such an outsized influence on both pop and jazz music around the world, that compiling a collection of great Brazilian music would seem to be an impossibly frustrating task. Even if you were to decide up front that for some insane reason you were going to leave out the gimme artists (Caetano Veloso, Antonio Carlos Jobim, Gal Costa), how do you pick from all of the myriad geniuses who remain? The answer is not to think about it too hard -- just pick 15 slices of musical ambrosia and call it good, recognizing that for every brilliant track you include you're missing out on a hundred more, and count on the listener to follow the trail you've left and get deliriously lost in the musical jungle on his or her own. A Night in Brazil accomplishes that task handsomely, with classic material from, yes, Gal Costa (an early-'90s recording of "Caminhos Cruzados") and Caetano Veloso (the brilliant "Samba em Paz," from 1965) as well as lots of Jobim tunes by a variety of artists -- tunes that, inevitably, include both "One Note Samba" and "Girl from Ipanema." A number of the other featured artists are legends in Brazil but less well-known in North America: the great Tropicálismo singer Nana Caymmi; samba legends Alcione Nazaré and Beth Carvalho; MPB innovator João Bosco. Every track on this collection packs a slightly different kind of wallop, and every one is a winner. ~ Rick Anderson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Brasil Legal - 3:53
  2. 2. Samba de uma Nota So - 2:58
  3. 3. Garota de Ipanema - 3:52
  4. 4. Mais Que Nada - 3:23
  5. 5. Heróis Da Liberdade - 5:33
  6. 6. Chega de Saudade - 4:31
  7. 7. Mulheres Do Brasil - 2:50
  8. 8. Kid Cavaquinho - 3:59
  9. 9. E Preciso Perdoar - 5:46
  10. 10. Se Tivesse Do - 4:43
  11. 11. Garoto Maroto - 4:05
  12. 12. Samba Em Paz - 2:07
  13. 13. Interfone - 4:12
  14. 14. So Em Teus Bracos - 3:24
  15. 15. Caminhos Cruzados - 4:40

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews