New Blood 902


rovi.MR0001891780 9/24/02 Used
$2.54 $2.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001891780


    New Blood 902 Telegraph

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text New Blood: The New Rock and Roll, Vol. 2 collects more garagey rock with the seal of approval from Artrocker, a London-based zine, label, and club night at the city's famed Metro Bar. While the U.K. hasn't necessarily contributed many big bands of its own to the current garage rock revival, it has been the most appreciative -- or, arguably, hype-driven -- scene for this music, helping to call global attention to bands like the Strokes, the White Stripes, and the Hives. New Blood features a good mix of songs from bands that have already broken through, such as the (International) Noise Conspiracy's "Dead Language of Love," the Hives' "Statecontrol," the Mooney Suzuki's "I'm Not Talking," and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs' "Miles Away" -- which also adds a refreshing dose of double-X chromosomes to the mix -- and tracks from up-and-coming bands, like the Pattern's "She's a Libra" and the Beatings' "Bad Feeling." Since most of the groups here stick to the tried-and-true garage rock approach of a few fuzzy chords, loud drums, and lots of attitude, quite a few of the tracks on the collection blend together; but the unique songs stand out even more, whether it's the cock rock-garage hybrid of the Datsuns' "M. F. From Hell"; Los Nachos' slow-burning "Gotta Make a Change"; the Von Bondies' blues-tinged "Cryin'"; or Ten Benson's "Come Home to Me," which sports some freaky double-tracked vocals. This band, along with Beach Buggy, McLusky, and the Parkinsons, also reveals that the U.K.'s own garage rock scene is thriving, albeit with less fanfare than that of Detroit, New York, or Sweden's. Love as Laughter's "Temptation Island," the Flaming Sideburns' "Street Survivor," the Hotwires' "Furious Desires," and the Catheters' "Disguise Myself" are among the collection's other highlights. New Blood also comes with hefty liner notes outlining how Artrocker began; essays on the history of garage and punk rock, image versus music, and other related topics; as well as mini-bios on each of the bands on the compilation. Though it may not be the final word on the garage rock revival scene, New Blood: The New Rock and Roll, Vol. 2 is a good primer on its well-known and relatively obscure bands. ~ Heather Phares

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Temptation Island - 4:38
  2. 2. M. F. From Hell - 4:45
  3. 3. Street Survivor - 3:00
  4. 4. Kranxed Up, Really High - 3:16
  5. 5. She's a Libra - 2:42
  6. 6. Jesus Died So We Could Ride - 3:40
  7. 7. Dead Language of Love - 3:01
  8. 8. Furious Desires - 4:41
  9. 9. Cryin' - 2:05
  10. 10. Bad Feeling - 3:23
  11. 11. Come Home to Me - 3:10
  12. 12. Rock N Roll Motherfucker - 2:00
  13. 13. Statecontrol - 2:55
  14. 14. Miles Away - 2:14
  15. 15. Do You Think of Him Still? - 4:37
  16. 16. Driver - 3:21
  17. 17. I'm Not Talking - 2:28
  18. 18. Primitive - 2:01
  19. 19. Whoyouknow - 2:04
  20. 20. Disguise Myself - 3:19
  21. 21. Gotta Make a Change - 6:46
  22. 22. You Bug Me - 4:25

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews