Mtv Party To Go V6 1194


rovi.MR0000848879 Used

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000848879


    Mtv Party To Go V6 1194 Tommy Boy

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Volume six of the hit-and-miss series of MTV Party to Go albums. This installment has some of the best hip-hop to hit the radio around 1994. Unfortunately, it also has some of the worst, most syrupy stuff available at the time as well. Among great party tracks by K7, Coolio, Warren G, and Domino are scattered various bits of debris that perhaps shouldn't be there. Ace of Base is tossed in between Warren G and Aaliyah, Tevin Campbell's extra soft approach immediately follows Crystal Waters' high-speed dance anthem. All 4 One's ultra sappy "I Swear" finishes off the album eventually. Also, eight of 15 tracks are various remixes (another habit of the Party to Go albums). Despite this, some top-notch stuff is given to the listener. Us3's reworking of Herbie Hancock's "Cantaloupe Island" is certainly inspired, and Coolio and Aaliyah's respective debut hits are both first-rate efforts worth repeated listens. Also, the producers were nice enough to toss in a track from A Tribe Called Quest, which didn't get the same kind of video exposure as all of the others. Really, in most respects, getting the separate albums would be preferable in most cases (as the respective albums are generally worth listening to in their entirety anyway), mainly just to bypass some of the sugary filler. Pick it up for a quick sampling of what was hot in 1994. Otherwise, pick up the albums separately and work from there (or pick up volume five, which was almost entirely perfect). ~ Adam Greenberg

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Move It Like This - 6:48
  2. 2. Fantastic Voyage - 4:29
  3. 3. Cantaloop (Flip Fantasia) - 4:43
  4. 4. 100% Pure Love - 5:59
  5. 5. Can We Talk? - 4:29
  6. 6. Your Body's Callin' - 4:16
  7. 7. Getto Jam - 5:48
  8. 8. Regulate - 3:11
  9. 9. All That She Wants - 4:15
  10. 10. Back & Forth - 5:32
  11. 11. Shoop - 4:21
  12. 12. Award Tour - 4:37
  13. 13. I Swear - 4:18

Customer Reviews