Wild & Reckless Men 0294


rovi.MR0001171288 8/4/94 Used
$3.39 $3.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001171288


    Wild & Reckless Men 0294 CMH Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text The incipient volume in CMH Records' Mountain Music Collection (1994) collects 20 seminal sides recalling the unmistakable sounds of Appalachia. Rather than present the contents in a strictly chronological fashion, they are categorized by subject matter. Wild and Reckless Men aptly describes the sagas of legendary figures relived by equally luminous artists. Listeners will find the lives of hard-lovin' and harder-livin' scoundrels from all walks of life, with ramblers, hobos, preachers, thieves, and a host of otherwise extraordinary characters in residence. Renown Mississippi and onetime Lefty Frizzell fiddler Jack Youngblood kicks off the proceedings with the rousing instrumental reading of "Hitchhiker's Blues." Additional nuggets include a vinyl transcription of Wade Mainer and Zeke Morris' plaintive interpretation of the bluesy and lovelorn "Train Carry My Girl Back Home." Equally sobering is "House of the Rising Sun," found here in a rare concert recording. Although both folkie Josh White and the Animals' blue-eyed soul remakes are arguably better known, Lester Flatt & the Nashville Grass get the nod for their stirring admonition of the Crescent City bordello. Other vintage selections of note are the Morris Brothers' "Let Me Be Your Salty Dog," "Ramblin' Boy" from the Carter Family , Tex Ritter's tongue-in-cheek rendition of the 18th century tale "Samuel Hall," as well as the infamous disaster ballad "Wreck of the Old 97," as recounted by the popular 1920s Skillet Lickers string band. Wild and Reckless Men likewise boasts a trio of interpretations from Mac Wiseman. His contributions are among the comparatively modern highlights such as the gamblin' ode "Don't Let Your Deal Go Down," the heartbreaking "Little Blossom," and the Bay Area ballad "Girl in the Blue Velvet Band." While the titles in the series are available individually, parties interested in owning each of the instalments are encouraged to locate the Rhythm of the Mountains (1995) box set, gathering no less than 81 tunes over four discs. ~ Lindsay Planer

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Hitchiker's Blues
  2. 2. Darlin' Coey
  3. 3. Train Carry My Girl Back Home
  4. 4. House of the Rising Sun
  5. 5. Don't Let Your Deal Go Down
  6. 6. Waiting For a Train
  7. 7. Chain Gang Blues
  8. 8. Little Blossom
  9. 9. Let Me Be Your Salty Dog
  10. 10. All Go Hungry Hash House
  11. 11. Prisoner's Song
  12. 12. Rambling Boy
  13. 13. Give the Fiddler a Dram
  14. 14. Jesse James
  15. 15. Samuel Hall
  16. 16. Down the Old Plank Road
  17. 17. Girl in the Blue Velvet Band
  18. 18. Brown's Ferry Blues
  19. 19. Wreck of the Old 97
  20. 20. Whiskey Before Breakfast

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews