Memphis Boys: Story Of American Studios / Various


aec.aci6704882.2 3/6/12 New
$11.89 $13.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.aci6704882.2


    Memphis Boys: Story Of American Studios / Various Ace / Ace UK

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Though it doesn't quite have the reputation or mystique of the studios for Sun Records and Stax Records, American Studios was also a major generator of rock and soul hits in Memphis. Produced as a soundtrack/companion to Roben James' book of the same name, Memphis Boys: The Story of American Studios has a couple dozen hits and other noteworthy tracks recorded at the facility between 1966 and 1970. Indeed, it's more oriented toward familiar hit records than the usual Ace compilation. When a studio cut distinctive, richly arranged soul and rock hits of such quality, however, that's nothing to complain about. And there are plenty of classic smashes here: the Box Tops' "The Letter," Dusty Springfield's "Son of a Preacher Man," Merrilee Rush's "Angel of the Morning," the Gentrys' "Keep on Dancing," Sandy Posey's "Born a Woman,' Wilson Pickett's "I'm in Love," Joe Tex's "Skinny Legs and All," James & Bobby Purify's 'Shake a Tail Feather," and Danny O'Keefe's "Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues," to name some. For those looking for something a little or a lot less famous, there are Southern soul sides by the likes of Bobby Womack, Spencer Wiggins, Clay Hammond, Percy Milem, and L.C. Cooke (brother of Sam Cooke). Elvis Presley is represented by a cover of Hank Snow's "I'm Movin' On," and while Mark James' original version of "Suspicious Minds" (a number one hit for Elvis in 1969) has been reissued before, its inclusion guarantees it will be heard by quite a few appreciative listeners who might have been previously unaware of its existence. Expert annotation (including a track-by-track rundown) and Ace's typically ace vintage graphics/photos complement a collection that makes you eager to read the much lengthier book that inspired it. ~ Richie Unterberger

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Memphis Soul Stew - 3:59
  2. 2. Son of a Preacher Man - 2:27
  3. 3. Shake a Tail Feather - 2:08
  4. 4. Letter - 2:54
  5. 5. Born a Woman - 2:48
  6. 6. You've Got My Mind Messed Up - 2:25
  7. 7. Keep on Dancing - 2:10
  8. 8. Nine Pound Steel - 3:54
  9. 9. Angel of the Morning - 3:11
  10. 10. I'm in Love - 3:30
  11. 11. Suspicious Minds - 3:03
  12. 12. I've Been Down That Road Before - 3:49
  13. 13. Funky Street - 2:24
  14. 14. For Your Precious Love - 3:13
  15. 15. Shame on Me - 4:31
  16. 16. Dark End of the Street - 2:28
  17. 17. Skinny Legs and All - 3:05
  18. 18. Power of a Woman - 3:51
  19. 19. More Than I Can Stand - 3:17
  20. 20. Let's Do It Over - 4:32
  21. 21. Suzy Do It Better Than You - 3:33
  22. 22. I Don't Know What You Got (But It's Got Me) - 3:59
  23. 23. Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues - 3:01
  24. 24. I'm Movin' On - 3:53

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews