Lost Sessions, The 1099


fye.000000400030534443 10/19/99 Used
$6.74 $8.99

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400030534443


    Lost Sessions, The 1099 Blue Note

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Anyone who's ever looked through Michael Cuscuna and Michel Ruppli's Blue Note discography inevitably wonders what many of the sessions labeled "unissued" or "rejected" sound like. This anthology is full of fascinating tracks worthy of release, starting with Charlie Rouse's "One for Five," on which the tenor saxophonist leads a fine quintet that includes McCoy Tyner and Freddie Hubbard. Collectors have long awaited the release of the four tracks from an abandoned date by Tadd Dameron, since there's a paucity of material available featuring him as leader and pianist. The octet's performances of Sam Rivers' lively, gospel-flavored "The Elder Speaks" and Dameron's ominous "Lament for the Living" aren't flawless but are well worth hearing. Pianist Duke Pearson's quartet is featured on three tracks, with tenor saxophonist Ike Quebec contributing a soulful solo on "For All We Know." The individual tracks led by Quebec, Sonny Stitt, Fred Jackson, and Herbie Hancock aren't quite as successful but are still enjoyable. Since this is a limited-edition release, don't pass up the brief opportunity to acquire this long-overlooked and very rare music. ~ Ken Dryden

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. One for Five - 7:05
  2. 2. Elder Speaks - 6:48
  3. 3. Bevan Beeps - 5:13
  4. 4. Lament for the Living - 4:06
  5. 5. Aloof Spoof - 6:22
  6. 6. For All We Know - 5:27
  7. 7. I See Your Face Before Me - 3:21
  8. 8. Sweet Slumber - 6:31
  9. 9. Oh, Lady Be Good - 8:04
  10. 10. Blues on Trial - 10:46
  11. 11. Cowbell Boogie - 4:14
  12. 12. Don't Even Go There - 7:09

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews