Hypnotic Sounds 2 800


rovi.MR0001128369 8/22/00 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001128369


    Hypnotic Sounds 2 800 Hypnotic

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Anyone who claims that all 21st century dance music sounds the same hasn't done his/her homework. Depending on your preference, you can find anything from melodic dance-pop (which is really an extension of 1970s disco) to underground rave music, which often lacks a real song structure and isn't about melody, vocal personality, or lyrics -- it's about the beat, the groove, and the track. Released during the summer of 2000, Hypnotic Sounds 2 finds mixologist DJ RIB providing a nonstop dance mix that draws on classic 1970s disco as well as Y2K rave music. This CD is ambitious and unpredictable; disco favorites like Anita Ward's "Ring My Bell" and the Andrea True Connection's "More, More, More" are offered along with electronic rave material (techno and trance as well as some jungle/drum'n'bass and acid house) that includes Transmutator's "Tranquilizer," Silverbeam's "Weightless," and Equinox's "Remember Today." Even Marilyn Monroe's campy 1953 recording of "Diamonds Are a Girl's Best Friend" (from the film Gentleman Prefer Blondes) gets a rave-friendly makeover. Hypnotic Sounds 2 won't turn baby boomers into ravers -- if you like 1970s disco but don't care for techno, trance, or jungle/drum'n'bass, this CD is unlikely to convert you. But if you're a raver who also happens to like classic disco, RIB's nonstop mix is an adventure. Unfortunately, the 15 tunes aren't listed in their correct order, but despite that shortcoming, Hypnotic Sounds 2 is an intriguing release that gets credit for its diversity and lack of predictability. ~ Alex Henderson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Diamonds Are a Girl's Best Friend - 4:19
  2. 2. Ring My Bell - 4:59
  3. 3. Funky Feet - 3:23
  4. 4. Lifting Me Up - 3:23
  5. 5. Intoxication - 3:10
  6. 6. Prologue - 3:19
  7. 7. White Bird - 5:39
  8. 8. Pull up the Brain - 4:53
  9. 9. More, More, More - 6:59
  10. 10. Tranquilizer - 4:34
  11. 11. Hurt Me.... Hard - 3:49
  12. 12. Weightless - 4:28
  13. 13. Remember Today - 6:42
  14. 14. Retroish - 3:27
  15. 15. Left Leg - 4:29

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews