Greatest Hits


fye.000000400322969809 Used
$67.14 $78.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400322969809


    Greatest Hits Wounded Bird

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text While this set has looked lopsided ever since the Wounded Bird label reissued it 2012, High Anxiety: Mel Brooks' Greatest Hits was originally released in 1977. That explains why that year's Brooks film, High Anxiety, is over-represented with five tracks that also comprised the original "side one" of the album, including the incidental music of John Morris, which isn't so much funny as fun. Side two is where the old-school classics reside, as The Producers is represented by the great "Springtime for Hitler" while Blazing Saddles gets not just the great theme song, not just Madeline Kahn's fantastic "I'm Tired," but the glorious ode to the "The French Mistake" as well, all delicious 31 seconds of it. Young Frankenstein's "Puttin' on the Ritz" caps off the undisputed highlights, and while that's a hilarious EP's worth of music for the Brooks faithful to cherish, fans should be warned that many of these cuts are straight from the films with dialog, sound effects, and other distractions left in. Still, there will be a time when you just need to belt out those Blazing Saddles tracks, so for romantic picnics, family car trips, and chorus-line practice with all the "gals," High Anxiety: Mel Brooks' Greatest Hits is all the schnitzengruben you'll ever need. ~ David Jeffries

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Main Title - 3:03
  2. 2. High Anxiety - 3:33
  3. 3. Anxious Theme - 3:56
  4. 4. If You Love Me Baby, Tell Me Loud - 2:34
  5. 5. End Title - 3:39
  1. 6. Springtime for Hitler - 3:25
  2. 7. Prisoners of Love - 2:25
  1. 8. Hope for the Best, Expect the Worst - 3:38
  2. 9. Vorobyaninov's Theme (The Walk Through Russia) - 3:16
  1. 10. Blazing Saddles - 2:20
  2. 11. The French Mistake - 1:32
  3. 12. I'm Tired - 5:35
  1. 13. Main Title - 3:54
  1. 14. Puttin' on the Ritz - 4:35
  1. 15. Burt Reynold's House - 2:17
  2. 16. Silent Movie March - 3:00

Customer Reviews