Good Night / Various


aec.tgbt6.2 6/24/03 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.tgbt6.2


    Good Night / Various Tigerbeat6

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text Somewhere between Mille Plateaux's Clicks & Cuts series and Kompakt's Pop Ambient releases lies Good Night : Music to Sleep By, a loose collection of glitch-soaked compositions sprawling over two discs that is easily one of Tigerbeat 6's most ambitious projects in the history of their sprawling catalog. This isn't a traditional Tigerbeat release and that's definitely a good thing, as it shows how multi-layered and diverse this label truly is. Good Night breaks down the premise that Tigerbeat's main sound is derived from abrasive max/msp workouts and sarcastic anti-establishment humor. All of the usual suspects are here (Kid 606, Electric Company, etc.), but the real standout tracks come from guest artists such as Hecker, Oren Ambarchi, and Stephan Mathieu. Matheiu's track, "A Drinking Song (Fur Katja)," is easily the standout track on the first disc, combining the best elements of classic Eno with Kompakt recording artist Tal to make a soothing ten-minute-long ambient lullaby that is quite simply one of the best recordings of Mathieu's career to date. The second disc is less glitch-driven and more drone-driven. Contributions from Pimmon and Tim Hecker are sprawling and guaranteed to lull the listener into a state of relaxing calm. But it's when Oren Ambarchi steps up to the plate with the cryptically titled "Statce.4B.Ver.2" that the compilation nails its true essence. Ambarchi's composition can try one's attention span at over 20 minutes in length, but patient listening finds a slowly unfolding composition that's extremely subtle in revealing its true colors. The results are not instantaneously rewarding, but like everything else on this compilation it will leave you wishing for more once the last remnants of white noise fade away. It's an amazingly good release that is the perfect catalyst to sweet digital dreams. ~ Rob Theakston

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Enemic - 7:36
  2. 2. Mighty Morphine (Before and After, Pt. 3) - 8:58
  3. 3. Circumvent (Before and After, Pt. 1) - 6:19
  4. 4. Pillow for Sue - 8:54
  5. 5. Drinking Song (Für Katja) - 10:00
  6. 6. Little Pismo's Lulllaby (Loop) - 2:21
  7. 7. Lilyguilding - 6:49
  8. 8. For Cantilever - 7:00
  9. 9. With Iliac Aport - 10:21

CD: 2

  1. 10. Minimal Slee
  2. 11. It Scares the Health Out of Me
  3. 12. Tombei the Mist
  4. 13. Indigo Aerial
  5. 14. Cede
  6. 15. Stacte.4B
  7. 16. [Untitled Track]

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews