Everything Comes & Goes / Various


aec.tmpr40.2 4/5/05 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.tmpr40.2


    Everything Comes & Goes / Various Temporary Residence

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text There are dozens of Sabbath tribute compilations that are currently infecting the market. Each with their own well-meaning interpretation and tribute of the English metal group's finest moments. Usually these compilations are filled to the brim with mid- to low-level heavy metal groups and session musicians trying to earn a quick dollar by riffing off the standards. This time around, the tables are turned ever so slightly to look at Iommi and company's massive catalog in a new light. Giving free reign to an armada of accomplished indie rock and experimental electronic musicians, the folks at Temporary Residency have delivered one of the most unique and satisfying tributes to the band yet. Starting off with IDM poster boys Matmos' rather short take on "F/X." The Ruins then set the album at full-speed with "Reversible Sabbath," a chopped up sound collage using familiar bits and pieces of Sabbath's greatest hits which end up a unique and original composition. A relatively weak rendition of "Iron Man" by Four Tet is easily forgiven by the beautiful country rendition of "Changes." The only setback (and it's a relatively miniscule one) is the lack of other accomplished artists in the Temporary Residence stable (Tarentel, Cex, Eluvium) having an opportunity to lend their talents to the disc. A version of "Paranoid" by any of these three artists could easily have been the crown jewel in an already shining lineup. For all of its quirkiness, Everything Comes and Goes is a sincere labor of love that may not always hit the mark, but those seeking a more abstract tribute to a groundbreaking rock band will be satisfied with the results. ~ Rob Theakston

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. F/X - 2:48
  2. 2. Reversible Sabbath - 3:34
  3. 3. Black Sabbath - 4:15
  4. 4. Iron Man - 4:14
  5. 5. Changes - 4:48
  6. 6. Fairies Wear Boots - 6:39
  7. 7. Planet Caravan - 7:53
  8. 8. Sabbath Bloody Sabbath - 7:53
  9. 9. Sweet Leaf - 4:20

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews