City On A Hill The Gather


rovi.MR0000425548 9/23/03 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000425548


    City On A Hill The Gather Brentwood Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text The Gathering serves as the third and final album in the City on a Hill series. Released by Essential Records on September 23, 2003, the album remains true to the collection's theme of community. However, it does depart from the series' focus on the church's love for God. Instead, co-producer Steve Hindalong says it communicates that "the way we love each other is the way we show our love for God." True to the musical legacy of City on a Hill: Songs of Worship and Praise and City on a Hill: Sing Alleluia, The Gathering includes a strong collection of artists such as Ginny Owens, Jars of Clay, Sara Groves, Bebo Norman, and Sixpence None the Richer. Musically, it is a combination of pop, folk, and ethereal sounds. Definite highlights are Andrew Peterson's "Holy Is the Lord" and Owens and GlassByrd's "We Will Trust You." Piano-carried, "Holy Is the Lord" is a lyrically moving description of Abraham's obedience to God in offering Isaac as a sacrifice. Songwriters Peterson and Ben Shive paint an intimate picture of Abraham's love and obedience to God at any cost, while tenderly describing Abraham's relationship with Isaac. "We Will Trust You" serves to reinforce the lyrics of "Holy Is the Lord," while offering a beautiful blend of voices in the shared vocals of Owens and GlassByrd. There isn't too much that distinguishes The Gathering from the other two albums in the series. So for listeners who are looking for consistency in sound, The Gathering does not disappoint. ~ Ashleigh Kittle Slater

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Shall We Gather at the River (Prelude) - 1:51
  2. 2. Gathering - 4:36
  3. 3. Kyrie Eleison - 1:59
  4. 4. Beautiful Scandalous Night - 4:47
  5. 5. Jesus Went to the Garden - 4:18
  6. 6. Table of the Lord - 4:31
  7. 7. Holy Is the Lord - 3:27
  8. 8. We Will Trust You - 4:09
  9. 9. Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing - 2:10
  10. 10. Come Be Who You Are - 4:18
  11. 11. Instrument of Peace - 4:19
  12. 12. Hallelujah Never Ending - 5:33
  13. 13. Open Our Eyes Dear Savior - 2:00
  14. 14. Marvelous Light - 2:07

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews