Afrikya 1: A Musical Journey Through Africa


aec.rasm3175.2 12/5/06 New
$12.79 $15.99

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.rasm3175.2


    Afrikya 1: A Musical Journey Through Africa Rasa

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take up to 8 weeks to ship.


Review Text Marcus Samuelsson is a New York City-based chef who fell in love with the multiplicity of African musical styles he discovered when researching an African cookbook. He collaborated with DJ Donna D'Cruz on a sound installation at the Studio Museum in Harlem that featured music by a wildly diverse group of musicians from all over the world, demonstrating the far-reaching African influence. This album compiles some of the best tracks from that exhibit. Far from being a dry history or geography lesson, this album vibrates with life.

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Alaye
  2. 2. As Nature Intended
  3. 3. Gud Fellas
  4. 4. Learning
  5. 5. Home
  6. 6. Abantwana
  7. 7. Fatwords
  8. 8. Breathe
  9. 9. Ensaralen
  10. 10. Souka Nayo
  11. 11. Nu
  12. 12. Dlondobala
  13. 13. Fano Keita
  14. 14. Sol Ja Camba
  15. 15. Holy/Common People
  16. 16. Why Can't We Live Together

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews