100% Handmade Bluegrass / Various


aec.actd56.2 1/20/04 New
$9.33 $10.98

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.actd56.2


    100% Handmade Bluegrass / Various Acoustic Disc

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text David "Dawg" Grisman deserves high praise from bluegrass fans for the extraordinary releases of his Acoustic Disc label. This anthology contains 16 tracks excerpted from the making of a dozen CDs for his company, most of which feature the mandolin great as either the leader or a sideman. There's so much good music that it's impossible to name favorites among Grisman's quartet and quintet recordings or the various all-star meetings of bluegrass greats, though the meeting of eight different mandolin players in "Dusty Miller," the hilarious uptempo bluegrass rendition of the Rolling Stones' "Honky Tonk Woman," and Grisman's duet of "I Don't Want Your Mandolins Mister" with the phenomenal guitarist Tony Rice are not to be missed. Grisman isn't present on two songs: the traditional favorite "Way Downtown" in a stirring performance by guitarist Jody Stecher's quartet, and the late Red Allen in a homespun duet with mandolinist Frank Wakefield on "'Tis Sweet to be Remembered." Those who have every Acoustic Disc release featured on this disc will be tempted by the inclusion of a previously unreleased version of "How Mountain Gals Can Love," featuring the great harmonies and picking of Ralph Stanley, Ralph Stanley II, and the Dawg himself. ~ Ken Dryden

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Way Downtown - 4:53
  2. 2. Victim to the Tomb - 4:26
  3. 3. Telluride - 3:28
  4. 4. Cabin of Love - 3:47
  5. 5. How Mountain Girls Can Love - 2:24
  6. 6. Watson Blues - 4:54
  7. 7. Love Please Come Home - 2:24
  8. 8. Dusty Miller - 5:37
  9. 9. 'Tis Sweet to Be Remembered - 3:18
  10. 10. Honkey Tonk Woman - 3:35
  11. 11. I Don't Want Your Mandolins Mister - 2:21
  12. 12. Drifting Too Far from the Shore - 5:53
  13. 13. Dawggy Mt. Breakdown - 2:20
  14. 14. Is It Too Late Now? - 4:42
  15. 15. Orange Blossom Special - 4:32
  16. 16. Angel Band - 6:54

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews