Unplugged In New York


$8.79 $10.99

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.gef24727.2


    Unplugged In New York DGC
    1. Unplugged In New York DGC
    2. Mtv Unplugged In New York (Shm) (Jpn) Universal

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text If In Utero is a suicide note, MTV Unplugged in New York is a message from beyond the grave, a summation of Kurt Cobain's talents and pain so fascinating, it's hard to listen to repeatedly. Is it the choice of material or the spare surroundings that make it so effective? Well, it's certainly a combination of both, how the version of the Vaselines' "Jesus Doesn't Want Me for a Sunbeam" or the three covers of Meat Puppets II songs mean as much as "All Apologies" or "Something in the Way." This, in many senses, isn't just an abnormal Nirvana record, capturing them in their sincerest desire to be R.E.M. circa Automatic for the People, it's the Nirvana record that nobody, especially Kurt, wanted revealed. It's a nakedly emotional record, unintentionally so, as the subtext means more than the main themes of how Nirvana wanted to prove its worth and diversity, showcasing the depth of their songwriting. As it turns out, it accomplishes its goals rather too well; this is a band, and songwriter, on the verge of discovering a new sound and style. Then, there's the subtexts, as Kurt's hurt and suicidal impulses bubble to the surface even as he's trying to suppress them. Few records are as unblinkingly bare and naked as this, especially albums recorded by their peers. No other band could have offered covers of David Bowie's "The Man Who Sold the World" and the folk standard "Where Did You Sleep Last Night" on the same record, turning in chilling performances of both -- performances that reveal as much as their original songs. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. About a Girl - 4:37
  2. 2. Come as You Are - 4:13
  3. 3. Jesus Doesn't Want Me for a Sunbeam - 5:37
  4. 4. Man Who Sold the World - 4:20
  5. 5. Pennyroyal Tea - 4:40
  6. 6. Dumb - 3:52
  7. 7. Polly - 3:16
  8. 8. On a Plain - 4:44
  9. 9. Something in the Way - 4:01
  10. 10. Plateau - 4:38
  11. 11. Oh, Me - 3:26
  12. 12. Lake of Fire - 3:55
  13. 13. All Apologies - 4:23
  14. 14. Where Did You Sleep Last Night? - 5:08

Product Details

Nirvana: Unplugged in New York captures the grunge band's legendary appearance on the then popular MTV program. The setlist includes originals such as "All Apologies," and "About a Girl," as well as covers of David Bowie's "The Man Who Sold the World," and Leadbelly's "In the Pines." ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi
Release Date

Customer Reviews