Tres Hombres (Bonus Tracks) (Rmst)


$5.00 $7.98

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.rhi78966.2


    Tres Hombres (Bonus Tracks) (Rmst) Warner Bros.

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Tres Hombres is the record that brought ZZ Top their first Top Ten record, making them stars in the process. It couldn't have happened to a better record. ZZ Top finally got their low-down, cheerfully sleazy blooze-n-boogie right on this, their third album. As their sound gelled, producer Bill Ham discovered how to record the trio so simply that they sound indestructible, and the group brought the best set of songs they'd ever have to the table. On the surface, there's nothing really special about the record, since it's just a driving blues-rock album from a Texas bar band, but that's what's special about it. It has a filthy groove and an infectious feel, thanks to Billy Gibbons' growling guitars and the steady propulsion of Dusty Hill and Frank Beard's rhythm section. They get the blend of bluesy shuffles, gut-bucket rocking, and off-beat humor just right. ZZ Top's very identity comes from this earthy sound and songs as utterly infectious as "Waitin' for the Bus," "Jesus Just Left Chicago," "Move Me on Down the Line," and the John Lee Hooker boogie "La Grange." In a sense, they kept trying to remake this record from this point on -- what is Eliminator if not Tres Hombres with sequencers and synthesizers? -- but they never got it better than they did here. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Waitin' for the Bus - 3:53
  2. 2. Jesus Just Left Chicago - 4:30
  3. 3. Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers - 3:25
  4. 4. Master of Sparks - 4:31
  5. 5. Hot, Blue and Righteous - 3:17
  6. 6. Move Me on Down the Line - 3:31
  7. 7. Precious and Grace - 3:09
  8. 8. Grange - 4:53
  9. 9. Sheik - 4:06
  10. 10. Have You Heard? - 3:14
  11. 11. Waitin' for the Bus - 3:41
  12. 12. Jesus Just Left Chicago - 4:03
  13. 13. Grange - 5:44

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products

15% off sitewide (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)
$16.99 $19.99