Top Of The World



Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.stoo7.2


    Top Of The World Stoopid Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Jump to the tropical rave-up called "Ska Diddy" -- with Fishbone's Angelo Moore on guest vocals -- and the genre of punk-rock-reggae comes into play, but Top of the World continues Slightly Stoopid's smooth journey away from bristly music and toward Radio Margaritaville. This evolution suits these Sublime protégés, who can combine a fine groove and simple lyrics for worthy weed anthems ("Marijuana" with roots singer Don Carlos) or fun drinking songs ("Drink Professionally"), but wasted days and wasted nights aren't the only thing fueling the band's sixth studio effort. Bad love ("Ur Love" with reggae great Barrington Levy) and unity amongst mankind ("Just Thinking" with Jurassic 5 member Chali 2na) are some of the heavier topics that sway this group's collective island heart, and while "Way You Move" is a reggae-fied, hot pool of woman-need, the beautiful and sweet "Mona June" with Angela Hunte is the one you marry, acting as the album's great love song of substance. Top of the World is packed with all the guest stars above, plus G. Love helps out during "HiphoppaBlues" and jazz guitarist Dan Papaila lends a hand to the closing "Intro to Organics," but as the band's hazy-eyed fan base can testify, any pipe that's too packed to draw on can be a bummer. Top of the World runs 21 tracks long and while none of it is limp enough to be called filler, that's a long ride on the party bus and a bit too much for newcomers. Still, Slightly Stoopid aren't the succinct punks they once were and now play by jam band rules where the music never stops, so look at this as perfect for that three-day weekend you've got coming or forgive the abundance and just dig how these guys make flip-flops, spliffs, and jamming sound so very necessary. ~ David Jeffries

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Top of the World - 3:15
  2. 2. Don't Stop - 4:46
  3. 3. Devils Door - 3:19
  4. 4. Serious Man - 3:27
  5. 5. Way You Move - 3:29
  6. 6. Drink Professionally - 3:13
  7. 7. Ur Love - 4:55
  8. 8. We Don't Wanna Go - 3:59
  9. 9. Ska Diddy - 2:09
  10. 10. Just Thinking - 3:27
  11. 11. Deal with Rhythm - 3:34
  12. 12. Pon da Horizon - 4:07
  13. 13. Work - 4:38
  14. 14. Mona June - 4:38
  15. 15. Rhythm Streets - 3:08
  16. 16. HiphoppaBlues - 3:31
  17. 17. New Day - 1:09
  18. 18. Underneath the Pressure - 2:20
  19. 19. Marijuana - 4:33
  20. 20. I'm on Fire - 2:29
  21. 21. Intro to Organics - 4:16

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products

BOGO 50% Off Apparel & Accessories
BOGO 50% Off Apparel & Accessories
FYE Exclusive!