Greatest Hits (Jpn)


aec.imt6751630.2 11/9/04 New
$28.04 $32.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.imt6751630.2


    Greatest Hits (Jpn) Universal
    1. Greatest Hits (Jpn) Universal
    2. Gold: Greatest Hits (Rmst) (Can) (Eng) Universal
    3. Greatest Hits Universal
    4. Reloaded: Greatest Hits Decca

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text This Greatest Hits differs from the slew of Tom Jones compilations available by including songs from his later career, a time he was messing about with contemporary pop artists. The fact that 1999's pop guest star-filled Reload failed to raise an eyebrow in America is a marketing faux pas of monolithic proportions, since it was so ultra-fantastic and ultra-fun. A good portion of it shows up here, and it makes for a whiplash-inducing listen when going from the jaunty chestnut "It's Not Unusual" into the so-2000 dance thump of "Sexbomb." Buy it for Grandma and she might be asking about guest stars the Art of Noise, Portishead, or the Stereophonics. All the pop guests work well with the swaggering one, and it's a relief to laugh with him rather than at him. A glance at the track list will tell you that most of required standards are here, but one wishes they would have included the great "Detroit City" to show his more soulful side. Avoid it if you don't want the later years when the innuendo and volume were turned up a tad, but it's the best way to get a quick overview of his hedonistic sly wink of a career. ~ David Jeffries

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. If I Only Knew
  2. 2. It's Not Unusual
  3. 3. Sex Bomb
  4. 4. What's New Pussycat
  5. 5. Green, Green Grass of Home
  6. 6. Delilah
  7. 7. Detroit City
  8. 8. Funny Familiar Forgotten Feelings
  9. 9. I'll Never Fall in Love Again
  10. 10. I'm Coming Home
  11. 11. Help Yourself
  12. 12. Love Me Tonight
  13. 13. She's a Lady
  14. 14. Thunderball
  15. 15. Without Love
  16. 16. Daughter of Darkness
  17. 17. Till
  18. 18. Venus
  19. 19. Boy from Nowhere
  20. 20. Kiss
  21. 21. Burning Down the House
  22. 22. Mama Told Me Not to Come
  23. 23. Medley from ''The Full Monty''

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews