Throwing Copper


$9.34 $10.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.mca10997.2


    Throwing Copper Radioactive / Universal

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text On Throwing Copper, Live tightened their sound, added crashing crescendos for dramatic effect, and injected some anger into their sound and songwriting. They also eased up a bit on the Eastern philosophy; the result is a more cohesive, memorable record overall, and quite an improvement from the sometimes overly precious Mental Jewelry. And for all of Mental Jewelry's ideologies, Throwing Copper is ultimately a more passionate and successful album, thanks to tracks like "I Alone," "Selling the Drama," and "All Over You," all of which received heavy radio play. The rebirth-themed "Lightning Crashes," the album's biggest hit, was written in memory of Barbara Lewis, a classmate who was killed by a drunk driver in 1993. Other standouts include the Kurt Cobain/Courtney Love-inspired "Stage," the apocalyptic "White, Discussion," the bass-driven, obsessive "Iris," and the dark "Dam at Otter Creek." Of course, Ed Kowalczyk couldn't resist throwing in a song like "T.B.D." (for the Tibetan Book of the Dead), based on Aldous Huxley's slow descent into death, aided by heroin. Its melodrama is a bit much, even for Live, and is just a sign of things to come on their next album, Secret Samadhi. But Throwing Copper is still a huge improvement from Mental Jewelry, and is the least overtly preachy Live album to date. ~ Gina Boldman

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Dam at Otter Creek - 5:41
  2. 2. Selling the Drama - 3:26
  3. 3. I Alone - 4:51
  4. 4. Iris - 4:59
  5. 5. Lightning Crashes - 5:26
  6. 6. Top - 3:42
  7. 7. All Over You - 4:00
  8. 8. Shit Towne - 4:48
  9. 9. T.B.D. - 4:29
  10. 10. Stage - 3:08
  11. 11. Waitress - 3:49
  12. 12. Pillar of Davidson - 7:46
  13. 13. White, Discussion - 6:06
  14. 14. Horse - 4:17

Product Details

Release Date