This One's For You



Product Promotions

25% off sitewide with $30 (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, select tech and LEGO items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.sny538883.2


    This One's For You Columbia / River House Records / Sony Music
    1. This One's For You Columbia / River House Records / Sony Music
    2. This Ones For You Too (Dlx) Sony Music / River House Records / Columbia

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Luke Combs' debut album, This One's for You, is anchored by the slow-burning "Hurricane," a ballad that takes its cues from Sam Hunt's R&B rhythms but showcases Combs' big, gruff voice. The tension between Combs' traditional side and his modern inclinations is what gives This One's for You some freshness and it surfaces often, including on the opening open-road anthem "Out There," which has a busier rhythm than necessary. Combs can also veer toward the middle of the country-pop road, whether it's on the breezy island vibes of "Don't Tempt Me," the cautionary tale "Be Careful What You Wish For," or "Memories Are Made Of," which has a modern gloss even though its title invites nostalgia. Despite all this, Combs seems to favor old-fashioned modes. He kicks up some dust on the twanging "Beer Can" and "Honky Tonk Highway" (the latter is the straightest barroom raver here), but he truly specializes in slower stuff like "Hurricane." Such ballads are all over This One's for You -- he simmers on "One Number Away," he conjures brokenhearted soul on the title track, and he offers a sweet, spare, backporch love song "I Got Away with You" -- and they're the songs that anchor the record while pointing toward a potentially long career for this singer. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. 1. Out There - 3:23
  2. 2. 2. Memories Are Made Of - 4:36
  3. 3. 3. Lonely One - 3:26
  4. 4. 4. Beer Can - 4:30
  5. 5. 5. Hurricane - 4:43
  6. 6. 6. One Number Away - 4:42
  7. 7. 7. Don't Tempt Me - 4:31
  8. 8. 8. When It Rains It Pours - 4:02
  9. 9. 9. This One's for You - 4:51
  10. 10. 10. Be Careful What You Wish For - 3:55
  11. 11. 11. I Got Away with You - 4:50
  12. 12. 12. Honky Tonk Highway - 4:32

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews