Things Are Not All Right



Product Promotions

20% off any 1 item

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.gner50.2


    Things Are Not All Right Goner Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text Two years passed between CoCoComa's self-titled debut album and their follow-up, 2009's Things Are Not All Right, and it's not hard at all to tell the band had some more experience under their belt when they recorded it. Things Are Not All Right is a long, long way from slick, but the lines are a bit cleaner than they were on the debut, and some of the frenzy has been dialed down in favor of a tighter and better-focused attack. But while CoCoComa sound a little more mature and cautious on their second LP, they're also playing significantly better and making the most of the tunefulness of their songs, and this LP ends up sounding a lot stronger and more coherent while still having more than enough power to get the job done. CoCoComa learned a bit about dynamics while making Things Are Not All Right, and instead of simply barreling forward at all times, the band makes some room for push and pull between the musicians, and Lisa Roe's guitar work is much improved here, still ripping with passion but also revealing a keener instinct of when and where to strike, and drummer Bill Roe's fevered stomp is tighter and better controlled. The Farfisa organ that played such a significant role on the debut plays a much smaller role here, but Mike Fitzpatrick's basslines are simple, strong, and confident and the sound is full and lively without feeling as crowded. And CoCoComa's songwriting truly steps forward on Things Are Not All Right; the pop melodies that were fighting for attention on the debut get their day in the sun here, and it's clear that this is a band that knows how to write songs, and they've gotten much better at making them work on these sessions. On their debut, CoCoComa were a big blast of joyous energy, but on Things Are Not All Right, they're also a real band, too, and that makes this album alright and more. ~ Mark Deming

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. You Better Beware - 3:43
  2. 2. Enemies - 2:22
  3. 3. Right Side - 3:05
  4. 4. Lie to Me - 3:26
  5. 5. Suspicious - 3:02
  6. 6. It Won't Be Long - 2:27
  7. 7. Never Be True - 2:40
  8. 8. Water into Wine - 2:15
  9. 9. It's Too Hard - 3:57
  10. 10. Alright, Alright, Alright - 2:29

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products