Caucasian Psychosis 197


rovi.MR0000777667 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000777667


    Caucasian Psychosis 197 Quarterstick

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text A pairing of the band's Wiija-released Baby Teeth and Pleasure Death EPs, Caucasian Psychosis would end up sounding increasingly formative after each successive Therapy? record. From the beginning, the trio seems to worship at the altars of just about any band with the word "black" in their name. This means Black Sabbath (dark chords), Black Flag (darkly personal lyrics), and Big Black (mangled vocals). So you really couldn't get any more black. Andy Cairns' troubled soul lyrics are spartan, usually spouted in short phrases or single words. They're not as effective as any written by Black Flag's Greg Ginn or Henry Rollins, but they're in the same vein. Sometimes they're rather funny, like "Potato Junkie"'s "I'm bitter/I'm twisted/James Joyce is f*cking my sister." The most characteristic track here is "Loser Cop." The guitar intro duplicates the sound of a racing ambulance, eventually finding rhythmic placing into something akin to Naked Raygun, accompanied by no wave sax skronks. A Tourette's syndrome-like slew of catchphrases ensue, both spoken and sampled, including the words "creep," "bastard," and "asshole." Rhythmic variety looms only in the near-dance rhythms on "Innocent X" and "Skinning Pit," and Cairns' melodic sense is in infancy, rarely present. The disc is mainly a tuneless murk of unimaginative songwriting and instrumentation that's just beginning to find a voice of its own. But if you just want a good brain-bashing, it should do the trick. ~ Andy Kellman

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Meat Abstract - 4:46
  2. 2. Skyward - 3:39
  3. 3. Punishment Kiss - 5:41
  4. 4. Animal Bones - 4:39
  5. 5. Loser Cop - 3:26
  6. 6. Innocent X - 4:00
  7. 7. Dancin' With Manson - 5:20
  8. 8. Skinning Pit - 6:56
  9. 9. Fantasy Bag - 4:40
  10. 10. Shitkicker - 3:30
  11. 11. Prison Breaker - 4:26
  12. 12. D.L.C. - 3:32
  13. 13. Potato Junkie - 3:10

Customer Reviews