Hallowmas Live At North S


rovi.MR0000421496 8/12/03 Used
$0.84 $0.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000421496


    Hallowmas Live At North S DCN (Digital Club Network)

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text "Hallowmas" is the Catholic name for the three-day festival that culminates in All Saints' Day, or in some southern climes, the Day of the Dead. It's fitting, then, that this band of South-of-the-Border-by-way-of-Brooklyn, mariachi punk rockers should title their live Halloween record Hallowmas Live at Northsix. Of course, this zany gang plays ska on this record, too ("Zen and the Art of Breaking Everything in This Room"), as well as cabaret, polka-rock ("My Ancestral Homeland, New Jersey"), Clash-inspired punk rock ("Paul Robeson"), and slow-moving, carnival-esque dirges ("One For the Witches"). It's probably the best example of what the World/Inferno Friendship Society does in terms of truly capturing the bands unique, devil-may-care iconoclasm (though as the DCN label goes, they may never top the stunning Canyon live album), but to those uninitiated to this group's swirling manifesto, the live representation of the band might be too much. This record could easily be construed as insane, and newcomers should probably start with one of their studio albums. ~ Charles Spano

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Tattoos Fade - 4:24
  2. 2. Zen and the Art of Breaking Everything in This Room - 3:28
  3. 3. My Ancestral Homeland, New Jersey - 2:15
  4. 4. Just the Best Party - 3:54
  5. 5. Paul Robeson - 3:41
  6. 6. Poor Old Jeffrey Lee - 3:41
  7. 7. One for the Witches - 4:21
  8. 8. Peter Lorre - 3:46
  9. 9. Younger Man - 4:22
  10. 10. I Wouldn't Want to Live in a World Without Grudges - 3:00
  11. 11. Heart Attack '64 - 4:35
  12. 12. Let's Steal Everything - 4:56
  13. 13. Secret Service Freedom Fighting U.S.A. - 3:58
  14. 14. Models and the Mannequins - 3:27
  15. 15. Pumpkin Time - 6:32

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews