aec.polk550200.2 12/21/07 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.polk550200.2


    Collection Spectrum Music

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text This mid-priced Walker Brothers collection from England is one of the bigger bargains that one can find in their catalog, offering 18 songs by the group, Scott Walker, and John Walker, all in nearly the latest remasterings and with some decent annotation as well, courtesy of Mark Brennan. The material isn't in strict chronological order, jumping freely across the years 1965-1969, from the trio's roaring "Land of 1,000 Dances" and their larger-than-life productions of "Love Her" and "Here Comes the Night" up through Scott Walker's "Lights of Cincinnati." The range of material is bracing, from their lush, enveloping cover of "Stand By Me" to pop/rock ballads like "Annabella" (by John Walker). The biggest surprise is how well the trio does with Curtis Mayfield's "People Get Ready" -- there are some songs that, in one's heart, feel like they ought to be off-limits to white singers (Sam Cooke's "A Change Is Gonna Come" being the classic example), and it takes an astoundingly great and sincere performance to break that barrier; Southside Johnny's stage vamp on the Cooke song is one exception that proves the rule, and the Walker Brothers on the Mayfield song is another exception. "Lights of Cincinnati" is co-authored by British songwriting legend Tony Macaulay, but it sounds like a lost Jimmy Webb song and production, with Scott Walker coming down somewhere between Richard Harris and Glen Campbell in the interpretation department. ~ Bruce Eder

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Sun Ain't Gonna Shine Any
  2. 2. Joanna
  3. 3. Stand by Me
  4. 4. Annabella
  5. 5. Love Her
  6. 6. Here Comes the Night
  7. 7. People Get Ready
  8. 8. Lights of Cincinatti
  9. 9. (Baby) You Don't Have To
  10. 10. Jackie
  11. 11. Land of 1000 Dances
  12. 12. If I Promise
  13. 13. Everything Under the Sun
  14. 14. Archangel
  15. 15. Living Above Your Head
  16. 16. I'll Be Your Baby Tonight
  17. 17. In My Room
  18. 18. Stay With Me Baby

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews