Three 1005


fye.000000400171118731 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400171118731


    Three 1005 Test Of Time Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Before Joe Sample detoured into smooth jazz, he was a first-rate bop pianist. This 1975 set found bassist Ray Brown and drummer Shelly Manne (the latter two had worked together often, particularly with Barney Kessel), getting together for a session of standards, familiar jazz compositions, and one original. The abbreviated liner notes don't explain the challenge of making this recording. First, the scheduled studio booking was canceled at the last minute, requiring that a new studio be found once original producer Yasohachi "88" Itoh arrived in California, while they also had to wait until the Doobie Brothers finished recording at the new location. It was also done direct-to-disc, requiring that an entire LP side be recorded in one take. Fortunately, the performances went well and the limited-edition project sold well until the stampers literally wore out, then the two sides of second takes were separately issued. This CD compiles both editions of the original LP and was evidently remastered from the session's backup tapes, though this release oddly lacks credits for the composers and lyricists. Comparing the two takes of each tune is illustrative. The first take of "On Green Dolphin Street" has a longer, more inventive introduction and Sample's energy seems a bit higher, though Brown's bass work sizzles in each one. Both versions of Oliver Nelson's "Yearnin'" (which debuted on his landmark album Blues and the Abstract Truth) include a motif from his "Stolen Moments" and are cut from similar cloth. Brown introduces each version of the dramatic "'Round Midnight" unaccompanied, with Sample's bluesy piano sounding elegant yet never in a cocktail mood. Finally the collaborative "Funky Blues" (likely composed on the date) has infectious gospel roots and swings like mad. Manne, always a superb drummer, complements his partners beautifully throughout the session. ~ Ken Dryden

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Yearnin' - 5:05
  2. 2. On Green Dolphin Street - 5:17
  3. 3. Satin Doll - 6:46
  4. 4. Manhã Do Carnaval - 6:03
  5. 5. 'Round About Midnight - 5:40
  6. 6. Funky Blues - 5:16
  7. 7. Yearnin' - 4:20
  8. 8. On Green Dolphin Street - 4:21
  9. 9. Satin Doll - 5:26
  10. 10. Manhã Do Carnival - 6:08
  11. 11. 'Round About Midnight - 5:38
  12. 12. Funky Blues - 5:53

Customer Reviews