Asphalt Gasoline Chrome Flesh Blood N Bone


aec.cdb5637495842.2 3/22/05 New

Product Promotions

20% off sitewide with $25 purchase (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.cdb5637495842.2


    Asphalt Gasoline Chrome Flesh Blood N Bone LockStep music

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take up to 8 weeks to ship.


Review Text There are times when roots rock and Americana come together with post-'80s alternative rock; the Telegenic's Asphalt-Gasoline-Chrome-Flesh-Blood-N-Bone is one of those times. Many of the influences on this 2005 release are people who are frequently heard on classic rock stations, including Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers, Bruce Springsteen, and the Rolling Stones (playing Americana doesn't mean you have to be devoid of British influences). And yet, the Telegenic's material isn't a carbon copy of '70s or '80s album rock -- there is plenty of alterna-rock angst at work on this 56-minute CD. In contrast to roots rock and Americana artists who try to sound exactly like the Band, Bob Dylan, or the Allman Brothers circa 1971 -- that is, the artists who are 100 percent retro and proud of it -- the Telegenic know how to unite the '70s and '80s with the '90s and 2000s. They love their classic rock, but they aren't oblivious to a post-Nevermind world in which people grew up listening to Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Mudhoney, Oasis, and the Stone Temple Pilots. The Telegenic have much of the blue-collar, down-home imagery that Petty and Springsteen are known for, only they have an angrier, punkier edge. But the Telegenic never let their angst get in the way of their tunefulness; Asphalt-Gasoline-Chrome-Flesh-Blood-N-Bone is a consistently melodic and hooky effort that is full of memorable, nicely constructed material. The bottom line is that anyone who has listened to Petty's Damn the Torpedoes and Springsteen's Born to Run over and over but also enjoys some punk and post-'80s alterna-rock will find a lot to appreciate about Asphalt-Gasoline-Chrome-Flesh-Blood-N-Bone. ~ Alex Henderson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Turn On (The Radio) - 4:52
  2. 2. In Love with My Gun - 3:51
  3. 3. Give It to Me - 4:14
  4. 4. Killing Tonight @ 11:00 - 3:04
  5. 5. South of Babylon - 4:50
  6. 6. Bus Stop Bomber - 5:33
  7. 7. Free 'N' Clean - 5:39
  8. 8. Fairfight - 4:54
  9. 9. Talkin' 'Bout Leaders - 5:32
  10. 10. Girl Without a Dream - 3:26
  11. 11. Last Time Around - 4:15
  12. 12. On the Wall - 4:57
  13. 13. Pieces of Your Heart - 4:18
  14. 14. Asphalt... - 5:09

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews