High Society


aec.cdb5637219543.2 5/9/06 New

Product Promotions

20% off sitewide with $25 purchase (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.cdb5637219543.2


    High Society ROAR Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take up to 8 weeks to ship.


Review Text Rock has come roaring back in recent years, and it's now de rigueur for critics to hear most music through a '70s prism. Thus the Silver Seas (formerly the Bees) have found themselves tagged as soft rock and mentioned rather bizarrely in the same sentence as many of that genre's singer/songwriter heroes. In truth, though, the prior decade seems to be where the group draw much of their inspiration. Their harmonies, for instance, oft times echo the Beach Boys, particularly on the lavish "We'll Go Walking" and the bouncy "Hard Luck Tom," although "Ms. November" is the best girl group-styled song ever sung by boys. And then there are Daniel Tashian's marvelous guitars, which shimmer, shine, and jangle, a sublime blend of Big Star and Byrds, especially notable on the brilliant pop of "Imaginary Girl." On the rumbling "Catch Yer Own Train," Tashian shifts into western style, while the harmonies and a wailing harmonica pay homage to the British Invasion. The rhythm section of standup bassist John Deaderick and drummer David Gehrke tint the set with an R&B brush, a style that keyboardist Jason Lehning often emphasizes, particularly on the dreamy "Taitville" and the boisterous "The Country Life." However, he's equally at home purveying elegant champagne piano, best heard on the shadowed "She Is Gone" and "Dream of Love," the latter counterpointed by Tashian's laid-back strumming guitar. But even Lehning's most extravagant work is downplayed by his phenomenal production, which beautifully burnishes all the instruments, then artfully places them in a warm and glowing amber setting. This is pop as it never really was, gentle, but glorious, lavish, but never glossy, a set filled with fabulous arrangement and instantly memorable melodies -- variously clap-along, joyous, luxurious, or musing. A stunning achievement. ~ Jo-Ann Greene

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Country Life - 3:39
  2. 2. High Society - 3:44
  3. 3. Ms. November - 2:10
  4. 4. Imaginary Girl - 2:28
  5. 5. She Is Gone - 3:14
  6. 6. Catch Yer Own Train - 3:06
  7. 7. Tativille - 3:38
  8. 8. We'll Go Walking - 4:39
  9. 9. Hard Luck Tom - 2:51
  10. 10. Dream of Love - 4:37
  11. 11. Broadway Lights - 4:52

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews