Mark Of The Mole/Intermis


rovi.MR0001882141 12/13/05 Used
$8.49 $9.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001882141


    Mark Of The Mole/Intermis Mute

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text The Mole Trilogy probably competes with Vileness Fats as the most elaborate concept the Residents have ever undertaken. So elaborate, in fact, that neither project was ever carried through to completion and only portions of each have been released. The Mole Trilogy tells the epic tale of two races, "the Moles" and "the Chubs," and how "the Moles" are forced from their homeland and ultimately subjugated as cheap labor in the land of "the Chubs." This, of course, leads to conflict and -- well, nobody really knows what happens next. The Mole Trilogy was originally conceived in six parts: each third of the trilogy contained a document that told part of the story of "the Moles" and "the Chubs," and that was paired with a "cultural artifact" intended to represent the art and music of "the Moles" and "the Chubs." Since only parts one, two, and four of the trilogy have been released, and only Mark of the Mole (Pt. One) actually relates the story, the listener is left to guess at how the story turns out. Intermission was music designed to be played before and after the live Mole Show, as well as during the intermission. As part of their on-going reissue campaign, the Residents and Mute have collected all the Mole Trilogy material into two deluxe packages: Mark of the Mole/Intermission and Tunes of Two Cities/The Big Bubble. Since Tunes of Two Cities and The Big Bubble clearly fit together as "cultural artifacts," Mark of the Mole and Intermission go together almost by default. They're packaged together in a CD-sized, 31-page hardbound book, with both the story that comprises the Mole Trilogy (as much as you get, anyway), and the story of the Mole Trilogy as it relates to the Residents' history. Additionally, there are reproductions of much of the artwork from the sets of the Mole Show. Mark of the Mole is also the point at which the Residents began to utilize almost exclusively the icy synthesizer sounds they've become known for ever since (technology finally caught up to them). The music is sometimes cold and abrasive, but the story is fascinating and works on many levels. This is one of the Residents' most notorious works. ~ Sean Westergaard

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Voices of the Air - 3:54
  2. 2. Ultimate Disaster/Won't You Keep Us Working?/First Warning/Back to ... - 9:54
  3. 3. Migration/March to the Sea/The Observer/Hole-Workers' New Hymn - 7:14
  4. 4. Another Land/Rumor/Arrival/Deployment/Saturation - 5:42
  5. 5. New Machine/Idea/Construction/Ugly Rumors/Failure/Reconstruction/S ... - 7:16
  6. 6. Final Confrontation/Driving the Moles Away/Don't Tread on Me/The Short - 12:20

CD: 2

  1. 7. Lights Out (Prelude) - 6:57
  2. 8. Shorty's Lament (Intermission) - 7:48
  3. 9. Moles Are Coming (Intermission) - 3:57
  4. 10. Would We Be Alive (Intermission) - 5:13
  5. 11. New Hymn (Recessional) - 7:53

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews