Best Of (Rmst)


aec.prl386825.2 6/18/02 New

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.prl386825.2


    Best Of (Rmst) Capitol/EMI Records / Capitol

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 1 to 2 weeks.


Review Text Since the Scottish Reid brothers' existing catalog consisted of four good but spotty albums as of this compilation's release in 2002, The Best of the Proclaimers is not only a near-perfect summary of their most significant songs, but is the only purchase any but die-hard fans will need. The 20-track collection runs 70 minutes and not only includes music from all of their albums, but additionally three new tunes recorded expressly for this release. Given that the brothers' style didn't alter substantially over the course of the 14-year span covered here, the non-chronological presentation works to the advantage of the listener. Of the new tunes, a cover of Frankie Miller's obscure "The Doodle Song" hits the mark in a rearranged version; "Ghost of Love" sounds like a great, lost Everly Brothers' ballad; and "Lady Luck" is a mid-tempo pop song that brings out their most soulful side. "I'm Going to Be (500 Miles)" was the duo's only big hit, yet the disc is valuable because it unearths excellent tracks that had been hidden on their uneven albums. In particular, "The Light" and "What Makes You Cry" from the underheard Hit the Highway release are well worth consideration for those who enjoy the Proclaimers' stomping folk-pop sound. Their version of Roger Miller's "King of the Road" is also a nifty and surprising addition. The sound is excellent, and the sequencing is well thought out, which results in a superb representation of the band, as well as a near faultless compilation. It makes the rest of their catalog necessary for completists only. [In 2007, an accompanying DVD called Best of 1987-2002 was issued.] ~ Hal Horowitz

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Letter From America - 4:02
  2. 2. There's a Touch - 3:12
  3. 3. Let's Get Married - 4:16
  4. 4. I'm Gonna Be (500 Miles) - 4:37
  5. 5. Doodle Song - 3:30
  6. 6. I'm on My Way - 4:35
  7. 7. King of the Road - 3:45
  8. 8. Ghost of Love - 3:11
  9. 9. Throw the 'R' Away - 3:43
  10. 10. What Makes You Cry? - 3:48
  11. 11. Sunshine on Leith - 5:14
  12. 12. When You're in Love - 3:13
  13. 13. Cap in Hand - 3:21
  14. 14. I Want to Be a Christian - 2:03
  15. 15. Act of Remembrance - 5:00
  16. 16. Lady Luck - 4:39
  17. 17. Make My Heart Fly - 2:29
  18. 18. Light - 3:10
  19. 19. Joyful Kilmarnock Blues - 3:05
  20. 20. Oh Jean - 6:55

Product Details

On the strength of their single "I'm Gonna Be (500 Miles)," the Proclaimers became pop stars. This video offers up 15 music videos and live performances, including the songs "Let's Get Married," "Letter From America," "Sunshine on Leith," and, of course, their biggest hit, "500 Miles." ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi
Release Date

Customer Reviews