Nazz Iii (Bonus Tracks) (Jmlp) (Jpn)


aec.plyj1003.2 4/26/06 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.plyj1003.2


    Nazz Iii (Bonus Tracks) (Jmlp) (Jpn) Universal Distribution / Universal/Polygram

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text Fungo Bat was scrapped for a variety of reasons, among them Todd Rundgren's insistence on singing lead vocals on his newer songs. Nazz Nazz was released instead, leaving the second half of the proposed LP temporarily in the vaults. Rundgren left the group before it was released. Taking hold of uncontested leadership of the group, lead vocalist Robert "Stewkey" Antoni erased Rundgren's lead vocals, replacing them with his own and releasing the entire project as Nazz III. This is, at the very least, sour grapes, but the situation is made all the more peculiar since much of the material finds Rundgren's songwriting moving toward the signature pop style that dominated his first solo records. Stewkey has publicly stated his distaste for Rundgren's Laura Nyro infatuation, so it's a little odd to hear him sing such finely crafted songs as "Only One Winner" and "Some People." That aside, Nazz III is an impressive effort that, if taken in conjunction, would have resulted in a very good double record. Sure, there's some clutter, but such detours as "Loosen Up," a po-faced parody of Archie Bell & the Drells' "Tighten Up," reveal the snotty side of Rundgren's humor. More importantly, the bulk of the record indicates how rapidly he was developing as a songwriter and a producer. Where he proved himself as a gifted mimic on Nazz, the group's second two albums found him assimilating those influences and developing a signature style. If anything, Nazz III demonstrates that better than its predecessor, which often seemed a little disjointed. There still isn't anything as immediate and indelible as "Open My Eyes," yet the best moments easily provide the road map for Rundgren's solo career. Even if he doesn't sing on it. [Originally released in 1970, Nazz III was reissued in 2006 and included bonus tracks.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Some People
  2. 2. Only One Winner
  3. 3. Kicks
  4. 4. Resolution
  5. 5. It's Not That Easy
  6. 6. Old Time Lovemaking
  7. 7. Magic Me
  8. 8. Loosen Up
  9. 9. Take the Hand
  10. 10. How Can You Call That Beautiful?
  11. 11. Plenty of Lovin'
  12. 12. Christopher Columbus
  13. 13. You Are My Window
  14. 14. Some People
  15. 15. Magic Me(mono)
  16. 16. Not Wrong Long(extended)
  17. 17. Meridian Leeward(alternate)
  18. 18. Letters Don't Count (Todd on Lead Vocals)
  19. 19. Resolution (Todd on Lead Vocals)
  20. 20. Only One Winner (Todd on Lead Vocals)
  21. 21. It's Not That Easy (Todd on Lead Vocals)
  22. 22. Take the Hand (Todd on Lead Vocals)
  23. 23. How Can You Call That Beautiful? (Todd on Lead Vocals)
  24. 24. Forget All About It (Todd on Lead Vocals)

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews