Soul Axess (Asia)


aec.imt5100152.2 1/27/04 New

Product Promotions

20% off 1 item (excludes pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.imt5100152.2


    Soul Axess (Asia) True Life Entertainment

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text Since the breakup of the original Crusaders in the '80s, there have always been two factions battling for the name: the occasional Joe Sample-Wilton Felder projects billed as "the Crusaders," and another group of rotating smooth jazz musicians led by trombonist Wayne Henderson, usually called the Jazz Crusaders. This new fun-filled, very brassy, and stylistically diverse collection features Felder on only three tracks, but, not surprisingly, one of the best is "Down Yonder," a gospel-inflected midtempo funk number that joyfully recalls the old Crusaders' Southern roots. Elsewhere, it's more a gathering of contemporary greats, with Henderson forming tasty horn sections with guest saxmen Everette Harp (on the bouncy cover of Stevie Wonder's "Overjoyed," also featuring a crisp Norman Brown guitar solo) and Ronnie Laws. Vibist Roy Ayers adds a touch of class to the Latin-flavored "Clima Suave (Smooth & Cool)," and Bobby Lyle (piano) and Dwight Sills (guitar) find ample room to shine on their numbers. The only drawback is Henderson's seeming need to join the hip-hop generation by adding several rap vocals, one of which pays obligatory homage to jazz heroes ("All That Jazz n Razz a Ma Tazz"). Along with an overreliance on pop covers, this sort of thinking makes Henderson's effort a far less rewarding experience than Sample and Felder's return to the front porch on the previous year's Rural Renewal. There are always glimmers of unique creativity, however. A cover of "Over the Rainbow" featuring vocalist Phillip Ingram features a cool Take 6-like intro, but then evolves into something much more pedestrian. ~ Jonathan Widran

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Overjoyed - 7:06
  2. 2. Clima Suave (Smooth & Cool) - 4:28
  3. 3. Trail of the Sidewinder - 4:29
  4. 4. Imagine - 7:58
  5. 5. Standing Tall - 4:47
  6. 6. Down Yonder - 6:41
  7. 7. Life in the City (Really Turns Me On) - 6:36
  8. 8. All That Jazz N Razz a Ma Tazz - 5:17
  9. 9. Prodigal Son - 7:29
  10. 10. All Along the Watchtower - 7:32
  11. 11. Over the Rainbow - 5:25
  12. 12. Never Too Late (To Fall in Love Again) - 5:55
  13. 13. Ya Gotta Respect Ya Self - 4:18
  14. 14. Goin' Bukyld - 6:13

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews