To Samuel A Son


rovi.MR0000433979 Used
$11.04 $12.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000433979


    To Samuel A Son Repertoire

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text The Gods' second album is, like their debut, Genesis, early keyboard-based progressive rock with a psychedelic hangover, vaguely tied into a concept about the experiences of the "Samuel" in the title track. It's more varied in tone than their first record, though, and more surprisingly, a little lighter in touch, though you can still hear some of the bluster of keyboardist Ken Hensley's subsequent group, Uriah Heep. It's a shortage of noteworthy songs, rather than shortcomings in the skills of the players themselves, that dooms this to second-division British psychedelia status. The title track is about the best of the lot, with its nice Mellotron-dominated bridge and distorted fluttering vocals and electronic keyboard tinkles. Psychedelia also lingers in the British observational feel of some of the lyrics, "He's Growing" even sounding a little influenced by Paul McCartney's piano-dominated story-songs, and "Yes I Cry" closer to Badfinger-styled pop than Uriah Heep. The dainty psychedelic popisms go a little over the top, however, in "Sticking Wings on Flies," opening with the lyric, "Sammy's gone to find a job sticking wings on flies, building clouds for thunderstorms, growing apple pies." The CD reissue on Repertoire adds a non-LP 1969 single, an instrumental cover of "Maria" (from West Side Story), as a bonus track. ~ Richie Unterberger

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. To Samuel a Son - 3:29
  2. 2. Eight O'Clock in the Morning - 3:16
  3. 3. He's Growing - 2:25
  4. 4. Sticking Wings on Flies - 3:39
  5. 5. Lady Lady - 3:18
  6. 6. Penny Dear - 3:34
  7. 7. Long Time, Sad Time, Bad Time - 3:12
  8. 8. Five to Three - 3:59
  9. 9. Autumn - 3:12
  10. 10. Yes I Cry - 3:42
  11. 11. Groozy - 4:41
  12. 12. Momma I Need - 4:57
  13. 13. Candlelight - 3:34
  14. 14. Lovely Anita - 4:32
  15. 15. Maria - 4:58

Customer Reviews