Man Who Loved Couch Danci


rovi.MR0001906021 Used
$10.19 $11.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001906021


    Man Who Loved Couch Danci

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Einsturzende's first compilation album summed up all that was brilliant and thrilling about the young band, who perhaps more than anyone else encapsulated exactly what "industrial" consisted of -- honest-to-goodness mechanistic pummeling and musique concrete remade for a newer generation. Selections from Schwarz and Kollaps feature, along with single-only cuts and various live performances as well, giving a striking picture of the group's varying approaches. Bargeld's rasped, whispered vocals and sudden screams crawl with threat and dread in a consciously dramatic but never overtly hammy fashion, while the rough rhythms and harsh clattering which serves as a bed for his delivery touches on everything from free jazz to minimal Krautrock rhythms. That the volume often gets amped to its absolute highest is only to be expected, but silence and space between sound matters just as much, especially on a slew of songs toward the end. Guitars and bass appear more often than might be expected, but the way they're played is something else entirely, muddied deep in the mix or roaring as undifferentiated noise stabbing in here and there. It's also interesting to hear the earlier version of the band in contrast with the later, when a slightly more formal rock presentation took the fore. Given that on the recordings here the group consisted mostly of percussionists beating on metal and whatever else was to hand, it's little wonder things sound even more aggressive. Maybe for some this will only sound like the backing music on a Sprockets sketch, but the impact on any number of sound terrorists then and since from this album can't be measured. ~ Ned Raggett

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Medley - 1:25
  2. 2. Roadrunner - 3:02
  3. 3. I'm Drifting - 3:59
  4. 4. Hipshake - 5:51
  5. 5. Louis Collins - 3:47
  6. 6. Are U Lonesome 2-Nite - 2:46
  7. 7. Man Who Loved Couch Dancing - 2:20
  8. 8. Memphis Beat - 3:00
  9. 9. Intro - 1:57
  10. 10. Broke Down Engine - 4:41
  11. 11. Rhythm and Booze - 4:26
  12. 12. Big Guitar - 4:07
  13. 13. Walkin' Bum - 6:53
  14. 14. Coal Black Mare - 4:32
  15. 15. Bonus Track - 4:42

Customer Reviews