aec.bfy15424.2 5/12/94 New
$17.84 $20.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.bfy15424.2


    Joyride Bear Family Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 1 to 2 weeks.


Review Text Compilation of the quartet's complete RCA-Victor recordings from April through August of 1956, including alternate takes. The array of sounds, including elements of rockabilly, dance-oriented R&B, and pop, may surprise fans of the Four Seasons. The vocals by Frankie Valli, then known as Frankie Valley, share the spotlight with lead guitarist/singer Thomas DeVito and rhythm guitarist/singer Henry Majewski, and their overall sound is just a little too derivative of other records that were around to be genuinely distinctive -- all except for the group's one and only chart entry, their version of Otis Blackwell's "You're the Apple of My Eye," which sounds more like a burlesque of rock & roll than a straight performance. Musically it is fascinating, if not the most compelling material of its era, practically a lost missing link from the early days of rock & roll by a phenomenally talented group that still needed to find a sound of their own. ~ Bruce Eder

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. What Is a Thing Called Love
  2. 2. Joyride
  3. 3. Such a Night
  4. 4. Girl in My Dreams
  5. 5. Diddilly Diddilly Babe
  6. 6. Shake a Hand
  7. 7. Please Don't Leave Me
  8. 8. You're the Apple of My Eye
  9. 9. Stranger
  10. 10. White Christmas
  11. 11. It's Too Soon to Know
  12. 12. San Antonio Rose
  13. 13. Night Train
  14. 14. Cimarron
  15. 15. Lawdy Miss Clawdy
  16. 16. This Is My Story
  17. 17. For Sentimental Reasons
  18. 18. I Want a Girl (Just Like the Girl That Married Dear Old Dad)
  19. 19. Memories of You
  20. 20. Jambalaya (On the Bayou)
  21. 21. Be Lovey Lovey
  22. 22. Love Sweet Love
  23. 23. Happy Am I
  24. 24. Never Never
  25. 25. Honey Love
  26. 26. For Sentimental Reasons
  27. 27. White Christmas
  28. 28. Girl in My Dreams
  29. 29. Diddilly Diddilly Babe
  30. 30. Such a Night
  31. 31. Honey Love

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews