Essentials 0303


rovi.MR0001129465 3/25/03 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001129465


    Essentials 0303 Warner Music

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text This 2003 release compiles tracks from the Blues Brothers' two live albums and The Blues Brothers soundtrack. Of the 12 songs, five come from 1978's Briefcase Full of Blues, five from 1980's Made in America, and two from 1980's soundtrack. The songs from Briefcase Full of Blues are the highlights; tracks like "Messin' With the Kid," "Rubber Biscuit," and the huge hit "Soul Man" are loose, full of fun, and alive with soul -- they capture a cultural moment and will have you dancing around the room. The two tracks from the soundtrack, "Gimme Some Lovin'" and "Everybody Needs Somebody to Love," are less successful; Joliet Jake and Elwood need a raw, live setting to shine -- coop them up in a studio and their flaws (mainly weak vocals) are very obvious. By the time Made in America was released, the Blues Brothers' schtick was wearing a bit thin (Elwood sounds especially dorky on his molasses-slow rendition of the Robins/Coasters' "Riot in Cell Block #9"), the music was sounding a bit tired and overly professional, and the covers less obscure. There is enough energy in the presentation to make the music fun, but it doesn't have the same punch that the first record did. An essential Blues Brothers release would probably have more songs from the first record, less from the second, and a couple more tracks from the soundtrack, like the funky "She Caught the Katy." You might as well choose The Definitive Collection. It sells for about the same price but has 20 songs instead of 12, including seven from Briefcase; takes more songs from the movie, including Aretha Franklin's storming version of "Think" (but not "She Caught the Katy" for some reason); and has a weird version of "Expressway to Your Heart" unavailable elsewhere. ~ Tim Sendra

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Opening: I Can't Turn You Loose - 2:47
  2. 2. Rubber Biscuit - 3:48
  3. 3. Soul Man - 3:00
  4. 4. Soul Finger/Funky Broadway - 2:45
  5. 5. Do You Love Me/Mother Popcorn (You Got to Have a Mother for Me) - 3:56
  6. 6. Riot in Cell Block #9 - 3:25
  7. 7. Messin' With the Kid - 4:35
  8. 8. (I Got Everything I Need) Almost - 3:43
  9. 9. Who's Making Love - 4:32
  10. 10. Gimme Some Lovin' - 3:07
  11. 11. Everybody Needs Somebody to Love - 3:20
  12. 12. Going Back to Miami - 4:02

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews