Superseeder (Dig)


aec.fiam449.2 10/14/16 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.fiam449.2


    Superseeder (Dig) Fire America

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text "Another year, another album" yawn the liner notes of 1995's Superseeder, a hint that perhaps Nick Saloman was growing tired of the Bevis Frond's work schedule. There's little hint of that on the album itself, though; from the spiraling, Eastern-influenced opener "Superceded" onwards, this is one of the Bevis Frond's strongest collections. Recorded with the rhythm section of Adrian Shaw and Andy Ward (guest Bari Watts adds a second lead guitar to two tracks, most notably the wild "I Can't Cry"), Superseeder marks a temporary return to the sort of extended raga-like acid rock workout that typified early Bevis Frond releases; the difference is that with a proper rhythm section pushing things along instead of Saloman overdubbing himself on various instruments, there's a much greater sense of interplay on tracks like the nearly 17-minute workout "House of Mountains." The album's high point is the hilarious "Sue Me," with Saloman singing mocking lines about being "the most psychedelic-est of them all" to a backing track that could fit on Electric Ladyland. The garage-punky "Dolly Bug," one of Saloman's most concise pop songs, is another goody, but really, the whole album is excellent. ~ Stewart Mason

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Superseded - 11:05
  2. 2. Dolly Bug - 3:22
  3. 3. Stoned Train Driver - 5:00
  4. 4. Animal Tracks - 4:50
  5. 5. Jaye - 2:15
  6. 6. I Can't Cry - 6:39
  7. 7. Could Be - 2:19
  8. 8. Flashy - 4:08
  9. 9. Golden Walks of London - 2:29
  10. 10. House of Mountains - 17:50
  11. 11. Queen of May - 2:53
  12. 12. Sue Me - 8:45
  13. 13. Loveland - 3:12
  14. 14. Could You Fly Higher - 5:56

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews